Research Guides @ Fordham: Medieval Studies: Manuscript Studies

General Manuscript Studies

Introduction to Manuscript Studies by Raymond Clemens
Call Number: (LC, RH) + Z105 .C58 2007

Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2007.
The Medieval Book by Barbara A. Shailor
Call Number: (RH) Z6621.B424 S5 1991

Toronto/Buffalo: University of Toronto Press in association with the Medieval Academy of America, 1991.
In Light of Another's Word by Shirin A. Khanmohamadi
Call Number: (RH) GN308.3.E85 K43 2014

University of Pennsylvania Press: Philadelphia, 2014.

Codicology

The Margins of the Text by David C. Greetham (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) PR21 .M29 1997

Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1997.
Medieval Illuminators and Their Methods of Work by Jonathan J. Alexander
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks ND2920 .A44 1992

New Haven: Yale University Press, 1992.
Scraped, Stroked, and Bound : Materially Engaged Readings of Medieval Manuscripts by Jonathan Wilcox (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks Z107 .S283 2013 and ebook

Turnhout : Brepols ; Abingdon : Marston [distributor], 2013.
Scribes and Illuminators by Christopher de Hamel
Call Number: (RH) Z124 .D3 1992

Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1992.
Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts : A Guide to Technical Terms (Revised edition) by Michelle P. Brown; Elizabeth C. Teviotdale; Nancy Turner
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks ND2889 .B76 2018

Los Angeles : The J. Paul Getty Museum, [2018]

Manuscript & Primary Source Databases

British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Includes Parliament Rolls of Medieval England. Note: To be recognized as a Fordham user, must first click the Log In link on green banner, upper left corner.
Digital Scriptorium
Images of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, including Fordham's collections.
Electronic Capito Project
Text of letters from and to Wolfgang Capito which are either unpublished or have been published before 1850 and are difficult to access.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
A compendium of translated primary sources on the history of the Middle Ages, from the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
Library of Latin Texts Online (CLCLT)
Full text of classical, medieval and modern Latin literature. Replaces the CETEDOC library.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online
Digitized books and manuscripts principally from the major collections of government records of England, Ireland, and Scotland concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc.
Medieval Manuscripts at Fordham
Includes all medieval manuscripts at Fordham, whether on parchment, microfilm/fiche, photocopies or facsimile.
Medieval Sources Bibliography
Annotated bibliography of printed and online primary sources for the Middle Ages (including Internet Medieval Sourcebook) from the Center for Medieval Studies, Fordham University.
Medieval Sources Online (Manchester)
Essential texts covering the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasion, MMSO brings alive the reality of life in the medieval world through these first hand accounts. ACCESS ONLY TO CONTENT WITH BLUE & YELLOW OPEN LOCK SYMBOL.
Medieval Travel Writing
Manuscripts of the most important works of European travel writing from the medieval period.
Middle English Compendium
Contains the Middle English Dictionary, Full texts of Middle English Literature, and much more.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Full texts of medieval historical documents.
National Archives of England, Wales, and the United Kindom
UK government's official archive containing over 1,000 years of history.
Patrologia Latina
Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Sources Chrétiennes Online
Searchable counterpart to the “Sources Chrétiennes” series of texts published by Éditions du Cerf, Paris. By 2025, the database will incorporate the source texts from the more than 600 printed volumes, in Latin, Greek, Syriac, Armenian and Georgian, sided by French translations and allowing for targeted and filtered searches.When browsing, you can use the option "Availability" to limit the results to the works/authors/volumes that are already completed and include text.
To start, the database contains the texts of 385 out of about 600 printed volumes. Four updates per year are scheduled. All volumes will be available by 2025.

Web Resources for Manuscript Studies

Digital Scriptorium
Images of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, including Fordham's collections.
Medieval Manuscripts at Fordham
Includes all medieval manuscripts at Fordham, whether on parchment, microfilm/fiche, photocopies or facsimile.

e-codices - Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
A growing virtual collection of hundreds of medieval manuscripts housed in Swiss repositories.
British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts of the British Library.
Codices Electronici Sangallensis (CESG) – Virtual Library
Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen, Switzerland.
Early Manuscripts at Oxford University
Free Library of Philadelphia - Medieval Manuscripts
Index of Medieval Art
Resource from Princeton University.
Mandragore
Bibliothèque nationale de France's illuminated manuscript collections. In French.
The Cloisters Library and Archive
Digital access to many resources of the Cloisters.
NYPL Renaissance and Medieval Manuscripts Collection
The New York Public Library has an extensive manuscript collection, much of which is digitized to some extent.
The Morgan Library and Museum
The Morgan Library and Museum provides digital images of its extensive medieval and Renaissance manuscript collections, along with some bibliographic information.
British Library - Medieval England and France, 700-1200
"This curated selection explores medieval manuscripts that were digitised as part of The Polonsky Foundation England and France Project: Manuscripts from the British Library and the Bibliothèque nationale de France, 700–1200."

Illumination

The Social Life of Illumination: Manuscripts, Images, and Communities in the Late Middle Ages by Joyce Coleman
Call Number: (RH) ND2920 .S635 2013

Turnhout: Brepols, 2013.
The British Library Guide to Manuscript Illumination: History and Techniques by Christopher de Hamel
Call Number: (RH) ND2900 .D34 2001

Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2001.
Medieval Illuminators and Their Methods of Work by Jonathan J. Alexander
Call Number: (LC) QuinnX + ND2920 .A44 1992; (RH) + ND2920 .A44 1992

New Haven: Yale University Press, 1992.
The Illuminated Page: Ten Centuries of Manuscript Painting in the British Library by Janet Backhouse
Call Number: (RH) + ND2920 .B32 1998

Toronto/Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 1998.
Book Illumination in the Middle Ages: An Introduction by Otto Pächt
Call Number: (RH) + ND2920 .P23 1986

London, England: H. Miller Publishers; Oxford /New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.

Paleography

Latin Palaeography: Antiquity and the Middle Ages by Bernhard Bischoff
Call Number: (LC) QuinnX PAZ112 .B5715 1990; (RH) PAZ112 .B5715 1990

Cambridge/New York: Cambridge University Press, 1990.
A Guide to Western Historical Scripts from Antiquity to 1600 by Michelle Brown
Call Number: (RH) Paleography PAZ105 .B757 1990

London: British Library, 1990.
Lexicon abbreviaturarum : dizionario di abbreviature latine ed italiane usate nelle carte e codici specialmente del Medio-Evo, riprodotte con oltre 14000 segni incisi, con l'aggiunta di uno studio sulla brachigrafia medioevale, un prontuario di sigle epig by Adriano Cappelli
Call Number: (RH) Paleography PAZ107 .C24 1990

Milano: Hoepli, 1990.
In Italian.
The Palaeography of Gothic Manuscript Books by Albert Derolez; David Ganz (Contribution by); Tessa Webber (Contribution by)
Call Number: (RH) Z106.5.E85 D47 2003

Cambridge, U.K./New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2003.

Medieval Studies: Manuscript Studies

General Manuscript Studies

Codicology

Manuscript & Primary Source Databases

Web Resources for Manuscript Studies

Illumination

Paleography

Reference & Instruction Department