Research Guides @ Fordham: Medieval Studies: Dictionaries, Bibliographies, & Background Info

Dictionaries

Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Classical and Medieval Latin dictionaries.
Dictionary of Old English: A to Le This link opens in a new window
A dictionary of English words in use from 600-1150 AD. So far, only A-I is online. Simultaneously searches the Oxford English Dictionary.
Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources This link opens in a new window
Brepols' newest Latin Dictionary.

Anglo-Norman Dictionary by Louise W. Stone
Call Number: (RH) Ref PC2946 .A6
London: Modern Humanities Research Association, 1977-92.
Clavis Mediaevalis: kleines Wörterbuch der Mittelalterfoschung by Otto Meyer
Call Number: (RH) Ref D127 .M58
Wiesbaden : O. Harrassowitz, 1966. In German.
Concise Anglo-Saxon Dictionary by J. R. Clark Hall
Via Project Gutenberg, 2010.
Concise Dictionary of Middle English by A. L. Mayhew
Via Project Gutenberg, 2008.
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin by Leo Stelten
Call Number: (RH) Ref PA2891 .D53 1995
Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson, 1995.
Dictionary of Medieval Civilization by Joseph Henry Dahmus
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref CB351 .D24 1984
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases by Christopher Corèdon and Ann Williams
Call Number: (RH, WC) Ref DA129 .C67 2004
Rochester, NY : D.S. Brewer, 2004.
Dictionnaires et répertoires au moyen age: une étude du vocabulaire by Olga Weijers
Call Number: (RH) CB353 .E8 V.4
Turnhout, Belgique : Brepols, 1991. In French.
Lexique Historique du Moyen Age by René Fédou
Call Number: (RH) DC60.6 .L48
Paris : A. Colin, 1980. In French.
Medieval Wordbook by Madeleine Pelner Cosman
Call Number: (LC, RH) CB351 .C63 1996
New York : Facts on File, 1996.
Middle High German Primer by Joseph Wright
Via Project Gutenberg, 2007.
Old French-English Dictionary by Alan Hindley
Call Number: (RH) Ref PC2891 .H56 2000
New York, NY, USA: Cambridge University Press, 2000.

Dictionary Databases

Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Classical and Medieval Latin dictionaries.
Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources This link opens in a new window
Brepols' newest Latin Dictionary.
Dictionary of Old English: A to Le This link opens in a new window
New interface. A dictionary of English words in use from 600-1150 AD. So far, only A-Le is online. Simultaneously searches the Oxford English Dictionary.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus This link opens in a new window
A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window
Contains the Middle English Dictionary, Full texts of Middle English Literature, and much more.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Unabridged, historical dictionary giving current and past meanings with examples of use drawn from literary. Includes the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, the first comprehensive historical thesaurus ever produced for any language, and contains almost every word in English from Old English to the present day.
NOTE: Paywall may be triggered when opening additional browser windows or when closing a window but then opening a new session in the same browser. For best results keep only one window open in your chosen browser and DO NOT USE INCOGNITO OR PRIVATE WINDOWS. WORKAROUND WHEN ENCOUNTERING A PAYWALL: Close your active browser windows; clear your history; start a new session.

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographies in Medieval studies. Citations are linked to full text when available.
International Medieval Bibliography & Bibliographie de Civilization Medievale This link opens in a new window
Contains over 350,000 records of journal articles and books related to the Middle Ages published since 1967.

Chronicon: Medieval Narrative Sources by Janos M. Bak
Call Number: (RH) D113 .C56 2013
Turnhout : Brepols, 2013.
Medioevo latino by Centro italiano di studi sull'alto Medioevo
Call Number: (RH) D1 .S7A
Spoleto : Centro italiano di studi sull'alto Medioevo, 1980-2013. In Italian.
The Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300: A Bibliographical Dictionary by Jana K. Schulman
Call Number: (RH) Ref CT114 .R57 2002
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal, 1300-1500: A Bibliographical Dictionary by Clayton J. Drees
Call Number: (RH) Ref CB353 .L38 2001
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001.
Medieval Studies : A Bibliographical Guide by Everett U. Crosby
Call Number: (RH Ref , LC QuinnX) CB351.A1 C76 1983
New York: Garland Pub., 1983.
Identifier sources et citations by Jacques Berlioz
Call Number: (RH) CB351.A1 I32 1994
Turnhout, Belgium: Brepols, 1994.
In French.

General Background Resources

Encyclopedia of the Medieval World by Edward D. English
Call Number: (RH) Ref + D114 .E55 2005
New York: Facts On File, 2005.
The Medieval Millennium: An Introduction by A. Daniel Frankforter
Call Number: (RH) D117 .F74 2003
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, 2003.
The Middle Ages (524-1431) by Salem Press
Call Number: (RH) Ref D113 .M533 2015
Ipswich, Massachusetts : Salem Press, 2015.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer
Call Number: (RH) Ref D114 .D5
New York: Scribner, 1982.
The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Matthew E. Bunson
Call Number: (RH) Ref + D114 .B86 1995
New York, NY: Facts on File, 1995.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization by Ayreh Grabois
Call Number: (RH) CB353 .G7
New York: Mayflower Books, 1980.

Medieval Studies: Dictionaries, Bibliographies, & Background Info

Dictionaries

Dictionary Databases

Bibliographies

General Background Resources

Reference & Instruction Department