Research Guides @ Fordham: History (Countries and Regions of the World): Dictionaries and Encylopedias

Reference Books - Ebook Collections

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains Cambridge Ancient History and Cambridge Histories of Greek and Roman Warfare, Ancient China, Egypt, and Economic History of the Greco-Roman World.
Humanities E-book Collection (ACLS) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 3,000 scholarly books in most humanities disciplines and area studies.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and encyclopedias on History covering various regions and time periods.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Ancient Europe, 8000 B. C. to A. D. 1000 by Peter I. Bogucki (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + D62 .A52 2004
New York: Charles Scribner's Sons: Thomson Gale, 2004.

Examines the diverse peoples of early European civilization through a series of 212 essays, presented in chronological order. Coverage includes prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000). Includes maps, photos, and chronologies. For the general reader.
Atlas of Classical History by Michael Grant
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref G1033 .G65 1994
Publication Date: 1994-07-21
New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.[print ed.]
London: Croom Helm, 1985. [ebook]

From the Bronze Age to the reign of Constantine, the Atlas of Classical History provides a comprehensive series of maps, diagrams, and commentary designed to meet the needs of classical scholars, as well as general readers. Over 135 maps of the Greek and Roman worlds clearly mark the political affiliations of the cities and states, major military events, trade routes, artistic, cultural and industrial centers, and colonization and exploration.
A Dictionary of World History by Edmund Wright (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref D9 .D53 2006
New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.

This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations by Charles Higham
Call Number: (RH) Ref + DS12 .H5 2004
New York: Facts On File, 2004.

Covering ancient Asia from the Jomon culture in Japan in approximately 11,000 BCE through to the Cambodian empires that lasted until the 15th century, this encyclopedia covers civilizations that have thus far been treated only marginally in English literature.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Roger S. Bagnall (Editor); Kai Brodersen (Editor); Craige B. Champion (Editor); Andrew Erskine (Editor); Sabine R. Huebner (Editor)
Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World. Rev. ed. by David Sacks
Call Number: (RH) Ref + DF16 .S23 2005
New York: Facts On File, 2005.
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. Rev.ed. by Matthew Bunson
Call Number: (RH) Ref + DG270 .B86 2002
New York: Facts On File, 2002.
Great Lives from History, the Ancient World, Prehistory - 476 C.E. by Christina A. Salowey (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref CT113 .G745 2004
Pasadena: Salem Press, 2004.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref + DT58 .O94 2001
New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: a tour through history from ancient times to the present by Joyce E. Salisbury (Editor); Gregory S. Aldrete (Editor); Andrew E. Kersten (Editor); Lawrence Morris (Editor); Peter Seelig (Editor)
Call Number: (RH, W)+ GT31 .G74 2004
6 vols., Greenwood, 2004.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the global catalog of library collections containing over 46 million records from libraries in over 65 countries. You can make an InterLibrary Loan request directly from the WorldCat entry for material that Fordham does not own.

Google Books

Google Books contains over 15 millions scanned books. Books can be viewed in 1 of 4 ways depending on their status: full text pdf for books out of copyright or with publisher's permission; limited preview of pages (sometimes quite extensive); snippet (a few sentences that include your search terms); or no preview. Bibliographic information is provided for each book including links to reviews, author info, web references, and related books. Use Advanced Search for best results. Try it!

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>

History (Countries and Regions of the World): Dictionaries and Encylopedias

Reference Books - Ebook Collections

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

WorldCat

Google Books

Reference & Instruction Department