Museums & Libraries - New York - Living - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Museum Websites

American Folk Art Museum
Features 18th- and 19th-century paintings, quilts, and the work of contemporary self-taught artists.
American Museum of Natural History
Contains the most technologically advanced space theater in the world, the Hayden Planetarium.
Asia Society
Possesses art exhibitions, performances, films, lectures, and publications to enhance the appreciation of Asian culture.
Bronx Zoo
The largest metropolitan zoo in the United States.
Brooklyn Botanical Garden
Includes a fragrance garden for the blind among other floral displays, water features and discovery exhibits.
Brooklyn Children's Musem
The first museum in the world for kids (est. 1899)
Brooklyn Historical Society
A museum, library, and educational center preserving and facilitating the study of Brooklyn's 400-year history.
Brooklyn Museum
Possesses one of the finest collections of Egyptian Art in the world.
Central Park Zoo
A large public, urban park in Manhattan, it is the most visited city park in the United States.
The Cloisters
An off shoot of the MET devoted to the art and Architecture of medieval Europe
Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
Housed in the former mansion of Andrew Carnegie and a Smithsonian Institution, it is the only museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design.
El Museo del Barrio
Located in East Harlem, it is the only museum dedicated to the celebration of Puerto Rican, Latin American, and Caribbean cultures.
The Frick Collection
The private collection of Western European art belonging to Henry Clay Frick. It is housed in his former mansion.
Guggenheim
Known equally for its international art collection and distinctive building, which was Frank Lloyd Wright's last major work.
Hispanic Society Museum and Library
Museum and reference library for the study of the arts and cultures of Spain, Portugal and South America.
International Center for Photography
Both a museum, showcasing the innovative photography, and one of the largest schools of photography in the world.
Intrepid Museum
Air, sea and space museum aboard a WWII aircraft carrier.
Jewish Museum
Explores 4,000 years of art and Jewish culture.
Lower East Side Tenement Museum
Guests can hear the stories and tour the rooms and the surrounding neighborhood of an 1863 tenement building that was home to nearly 7000 immigrants.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (MET)
Collection contains art from all over the world, as well as a large permanent collection devoted to American art.
Morgan Museum and Library
A museum and a scholarly research center, containing rare prints, drawings and manuscripts.
Museum of the American Gangster
Located in a former Prohibition Speakeasy this Museum houses a variety of gangster- related memorabilia and offers a guided tour through the lower levels of the building where "the booze and the bodies were kept"
Museum of the City of NY
A collection of original materials, cultural and historical documents and artifacts related to the history of New York City.
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
Contains works of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and film.
Museum of the Moving Image
Advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media.
National Museum of the American Indian
A branch of the Smithsonian, the museum’s exhibitions and public programs explore the diversity of the Native people of the Americas.
Neue Galerie
Translated from German as "New Gallery," it is a museum of early 20th-century German and Austrian art and design.
New York Botanical Garden
It spans some 240 acres of Bronx Park and is home to some of the world's leading plant laboratories.
New-York Historical Society
Dedicated to the preservation of the city's history, the society operates a museum and library, and provides many public educational programs.
New York Public Library
Simultaneously one of the largest public library systems in the United States and one of the largest research library systems.
Noguchi Museum
In collaboration with the Isamu Noguchi Foundation in Japan, it highlights the works of Japanese-American artists.
Paley Center for Media
Formerly known as the Museum of Television & Radio, it houses a collection of more than 50,000 T.V. and radio shows.
Prospect Park
Includes a large nature conservancy and Brooklyn's only lake.
Queens Zoo
Located in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, and home primarily to animals native to North America.
Transit Museum
The largest museum in the United States devoted to urban public transportation history.
Whitney Museum
Arguably the finest collection of 20th-century American art in the world.

Museums Discounts & Promotions

Check Out these Groupon deals for Discount Museum Vistis and Memberships!

Bank of America or Merrill Lynch credit card holder? Check out these museums for free the first full weekend of every month.

Museum Day Live! Is September 27th! Free admission to these museums sponsoered by Smithsonian Magazine

Awesome Exhibits and Museum News

Museum Mile Festival

Museum of the Moving Image to Create Jim Henson Gallery

New York Times Art Blog

The best Museums in the City (according to Gothamist)

Visions of Greatness at BCC
Envisioning a Hall of Fame to reflect the richly diverse ethnicities of the Bronx community surrounding it.

Museum Images

Museum Freebies

Many museums in NYC have days or time periods where it is free to visit. The following is a comprehensive list of those museums and their respective free entrance schedules. Use these to help plan visits for class or pleasure! Keep in mind “suggested donation” is equivalent to “pay what you wish.”

American Folk Art Museum
Always Free! (also have free music Fridays from 5:30 – 7:30pm)

Asia Society Museum
Free on Fridays from 6 – 9pm (except July and August)

Bronx Zoo
Pay what you wish Wednesdays

Brooklyn Children’s Museum
Free on the Third Thursday of each month from 4–7pm and on the First Full Weekend of each month from 2–5pm, except on holiday weekends.

Brooklyn Museum
Suggested Donation & Target first Saturday- Free museum events on the first Saturday of each month.

The Cloisters
Suggested donation (free same day entrance to the MET with pin)

El Museo del Barrio
Suggested Donation

Frick Collection
Pay what you wish Sundays from 11am - 1pm

Guggenheim
Pay what you wish Saturdays from 5:45 – 7:45pm

Hispanic Society of America Museum and Library
Always Free!

International Center for Photography
Pay what you wish Fridays from 5 – 8pm

Jewish Museum
Free on Saturdays

Morgan Library/Museum
Free on Fridays from 7 – 9pm

Metropolitan Museum of Art (MET)
Suggested donation (free same day entrance to the Cloisters with pin)

Museum of the City of NY
Suggested Donation

Museum of the Moving Image
Free Fridays from 4-8pm

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
Free on Fridays from 4 – 8pm

Museum of Natural History
Suggested Donation

National Museum of the American Indian
Always Free!

Neue Galerie
Free on the First Friday of each month from 6 – 8pm

New York Botanical Gardens
Free on Wednesdays (always free for runners)

New York Aquarium
Free on Fridays after 3pm

New York Hall of Science
Free September through June on Fridays, 2 – 5pm; Sundays, 10 – 11am

New York Historical Society
Pay what you wish on Fridays from 6 – 8pm

Noguchi Museum
Pay what you wish on the First Friday of each month

Whitney
Pay what you wish on Fridays from 6 – 9pm

New York - Living: Museums & Libraries

Museum Websites

Museums Discounts & Promotions

Awesome Exhibits and Museum News

Museum Images

Museum Freebies