Research Guides @ Fordham: Middle East Studies: Finding Books

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps, and more.

In addition to keyword searches, consider searching these series:

Middle East in Focus = Series

Library of Modern Middle East Studies = Series

Social, Economic, and Political Studies of the Middle East and Asia = Series

Indiana Series in Middle East Studies = Series

Library of Middle East History = Series

Middle East = Series

Browsing by LC

LC Call Numbers

DS - Middle East

DS35.3-35.77 The Islamic World

DS36-39.2 Arab countries

DS41-66 Middle East. Southwestern Asia. Ancient Orient. Arab East. Near East

DS67-79.9 Iraq (Assyria, Babylonia, Mesopotamia)

DS80-90 Lebanon (Phenicia)

DS92-99 Syria

DS101-151 Israel (Palestine). The Jews

DS109-109.94 Jerusalem

DS153-154.9 Jordan. Transjordan

DS161-195.5 Armenia

DS201-248 Arabian Peninsula. Saudi Arabia

DS251-326 Iran (Persia)

DS350-375 Afghanistan

DS376-392.2 Pakistan

DT - Africa

DT43-154 Egypt

DR - Balkans

DR401-741 Turkey

DK - Former Soviet Republics

DK670-679.5 Georgia (Republic). Georgian S.S.R. Georgian Sakartvelo

DK680-689.5 Armenia (Republic). Armenian S.S.R.

DK690-699.5 Azerbaijan. Azerbaijan S.S.R.

DK931-939.5 Turkmenistan. Turkmen S.S.R. Turkmenia

Open Access Ebook Collections, Print Indexes, Bibliographies

Brill Open E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of open access books. Use the left tool bar to limit by subject: Middle East and Islamic Studies.

Index Islamicus, 1906-1955: A Catalogue of Articles on Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications. by Pearson, J. D.
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS41 .I6 and DS41 .I6 Suppl.
Index Islamicus. Supplement, 1665-1980: A Bibliography of Articles on Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications. by Behn, Wolfgang
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS41 .I61 vols 1 & 2.
Middle East, Abstracts & Index
Call Number: Ref (RH) DS41 .M46
This is a print version of the MIDA database.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive comprising public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.

Browsing Other Call Numbers

Cities of the Middle East and North Africa: A Historical Encyclopedia by Janet L. Abu-Lughod (Foreword by); Michael Richard Thomas Dumper (Editor); Bruce Stanley (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + HT147.5 .C574 2007
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2007.
The Economics of the Middle East by James E. Rauch
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HC415.15 .R38 2020
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2020]
The Israeli Economy from the Foundation of the State Through the 21st Century by Paul Rivlin
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks HC415.25 .R583 2011
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011.
The Long Divergence: How Islamic Law Held Back the Middle East by Timur Kuran
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HC415.15 .K87 2011
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2011.
A Political Economy of the Middle East, 3rd ed., updated 2013 ed. by Ishac Diwan; Melani Cammett; Alan Richards; John Waterbury
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HC415.15 .R53 2008
Boulder, CO : Westview Press, 2013

Noteworthy Books

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Michael R. Fischbach
Call Number: (RH) + Ref CT1866 .B56 2008
Detroit: Gale Group, 2008.
Demography and Democracy : Transitions in the Middle East and North Africa by Elhum Haghighat
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HB3633.3.A3 H34 2018
Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Dictionary of Politics in the Middle East by Kristian Coates Ulrichsen
[Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2018.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed. by Philip Mattar
Call Number: (RH) Ref + DS43 .E53 2004 ( 4 vols.)
Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
Environmental Politics in the Middle East by Harry Verhoeven (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks GE190.M628 E68 2018
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, [2018]
Islam : A Worldwide Encyclopedia [4 Volumes] by Cenap Çakmak (Editor)
Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2017]
Middle East Patterns : Places, People, and Politics, 6th ed by Colbert C. Held; John Thomas Cummings
Call Number: ebook
Boulder, Colorado : Westview Press, 2013.
Older editions in the Stacks at RH and LC : DS49.7 .H377
Negotiating Marriage, Family and Work : Experiences of Middle Class Egyptian Women by Dahlia Tawhid Roque
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2020.