Skip to Main Content

New York Public Library Electronic Resources: Effective Database Searching

Fordham students are eligible for free NYPL cards. A valid library card - physical or digital - and PIN is needed to connect to NYPL e-resources from home. All content in this guide was created and is owned by the NYPL.

Database Searching

Here are some tips for effective database searching.

If you need additional assistance, Fordham reference librarians are happy to help. To request help using NYPL resources and database searching, contact a Fordham librarian by trying Fordham's chat service or finding a Fordham library liaison. 

Effective Search Process

  1. Start broadly and narrow down the results using advances search settings. For example, you can narrow by dates, by location, by author, by key words, etc.
  2. Use controlled vocabularies and database thesauruses. Sometimes we don't get results simply because we are using the wrong terms. Using a controlled vocabulary or the thesaurus provided by that particular database can help find the terms to find more relevant results.
  3. Use Boolean logic. Databases use certain operators to help define searches for example:
    1. Inserting AND, OR, NEAR and NOT
    2. Asterisks to truncate words
    3. Question marks as wild cards.
    4. Use quotation marks (“”) to search for exact phrases.

These can help provide more accurate search results. Here is a list of commonly used boolean operators.

Boolean Operators

From the ProQuest website.

Tips for Beginning Search with Databases

  1. If a topic is something that you are just getting familiar with start with "reference databases" to get an encyclopedic overview. 
  2. Use bibliographies! Bibliographies provide a list of resources on a specific topic, and are a great way for students to find resources that they did not think of before.
  3. Use databases that contain collections or are multidisciplinary. This allows you to search a topic across hundreds of journals and documents at one time. 

Bibliography

Works Cited and Article Bibliographies

Once you find an article or book that is really relevant to your topic make sure to check the author's bibliography and works cited page. You will most likely find many other helpful resources on those pages as well.

Ask a Librarian

AJCU - Ask a Librarian Chat! 

Staffed by Fordham and AJCU librarians. 

Service is available 24/7

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is not available on the following holidays:

Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, and Independence Day.

Fordham Reference Text

   

      Text your question to 

      71-TXTX-1284

Choose this option for short, simple questions

Available only when Fordham librarians and staff are online

160 character max for questions

320 character max for answers

Email us:   library@fordham.edu

Most questions answered within 2 business days.

Call us during standard business hours (check the library hours):  

Lincoln Center Reference:  212-636-6050

Rose Hill Reference:  718-817-3586

Westchester Reference:  914-367-3061

Please allow 1 business day for replies to voice messages.