News From the Stacks - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Hello Rams, and welcome to the Fall 2025 semester! We’re kicking off a brand-new academic year and a brand-new chapter for Fordham University Libraries with the launch of our new official blog, News from the Stacks.

This will be your go-to space for the latest updates, event announcements, research tips, and behind-the-scenes glimpses of library life. Whether you’re a first-year student learning the ropes, a grad student deep in your thesis, or a faculty member preparing for the semester, we’re here to support your teaching, learning, and research.

This fall, your Fordham University Libraries can help you:

Find, access, and borrow resources for your courses and research
Explore the collection through our online catalog
Get personalized help from our librarians
Take advantage of our quiet study spaces
Embark on your research journey with specialized subject research guides
Chat online with real-life librarians through the 24/7 chat service, Ask a Librarian
Borrow beyond the library through our Interlibrary Loan service
Discover our digital collections

Don’t miss a post! Subscribe to News from the Stacks by inputting your email into the subscription box, and you’ll get the latest library news delivered right to your inbox.

Here’s to a successful, inspiring, and well-read semester!

Recent Posts

Book Review Time: Other Rivers: A Chinese Education by Peter Hessler

By Peter Patten, Reference Librarian, Walsh Library Since his first book, Rivertown: Two years on the Yangtze, published in 2001, Peter Hessler has focused on insightful portrayals of ordinary Chinese people rather than on Chinese politics. That said, he does not avoid showing how the people he knows - students, delivery workers, teachers and others - are inevitably affected by the Chinese political system. This is clear from the first pages of Other Rivers: A Chinese Education.After a long absence from China, Hessler returned to teach a university course rather than the basic English he had once taught in a rural school. His “Introduction to Journalism and Nonfiction” class drew more applicants than he could accept, including one student who wrote, “In China, you will see a lot of things, but often you can’t say them.” As an American journalist, Hessler’s words were under close watch, with cameras in every classroom and no way of knowing who might be monitoring them. The real trouble began when a student filed a jubao, or complaint to authorities, about his response to an essay claiming that citizens in civilized nations cannot question national sovereignty. Hessler had replied that in countries with the rule of law, such as the United States, Canada, and Europe, people are free to make statements supporting independence movements. The comment caused an online scandal that drew the attention of officials. At a department meeting, administrators reminded faculty that certain topics, including those deemed politically sensitive, should not be discussed. Ultimately, Hessler’s contract was not renewed, and he was forced to leave China with his family. His experience became a powerful example of how censorship and fear continue to shape academic and public life.Hessler’s experience of Chinese education extends beyond his university teaching to his role as a parent of twin daughters in elementary school. At a time when American education faces criticism for demanding too little of students,a clear disparity is evident. Students have extraordinary pressures placed on them and parents are hyper-involved in their children’s education. Hessler describes how the parents of the children in his daughters’ class frequently post on chat groups about the smallest details, referring to their children as though they had merged with themselves. “We have finished our math”. “We will be wearing shorts today”. This kind of dry, understated humor, though subtle, is consistently present for the attentive reader and one of the pleasures of reading his books. Many schools in China publicly post student rankings so everyone knows who is first and who is the last. Maintaining student self esteem is not a priority in China, at least not for those at the bottom. In spite of this, the dedication of Chinese students can surprise anyone unfamiliar with China. During an earthquake, one student rushed into a collapsing building to save English textbooks. Rather than being admonished for recklessness, his actions were praised by a teacher.Hessler in his apartment in Fuling, China, in the fall of 1996 shortly after he arrived. His apartment looked down to the Wu River and then the Yangtze in the distance.Among the things distinguishing Other Rivers from the books on China centered around dark events like the Great Leap Forward and the Cultural Revolution, Hessler's personal experience of China’s changes over twenty five years and his enduring attachment to his students are what stand out and make him worth reading. Many of his original students went on to live ordinary lives as teachers while some, following Deng Xiaoping’s saying “To be rich is glorious”, indeed became quite rich. One of Hessler’s former students created a business installing elevators in old apartment buildings. Most older buildings in China lack elevators, forcing residents to climb many flights of stairs. This former student, turned entrepreneur, offered a solution: residents could pay a fee, scaled by floor level, to install an elevator and receive a key that only reached their own apartment.Between 1978 and 2019, China’s economy grew at an astonishing 9.5% annually, lifting millions from poverty into the middle class. Opportunities flourished, and optimism was widespread. In recent years, however, growth has slowed, and many young graduates now face a more competitive job market. This shift has inspired the “lying flat” movement, where some young people push back against burnout and social pressure by stepping away from constant striving. While the mood has become more uncertain, China continues to adapt to a new economic reality after decades of rapid change.Drawing on twenty-five years of experience in China, Hessler skillfully weaves together past and present. His discussion of John Dewey’s lectures on educational reform in China from 1919 to 1921, which later influenced the school his daughters attended, adds depth to the narrative and insight into his students’ lives. Despite the great diversity of themes and materials Peter Hessler cohesively integrates Chinese education, the covid lockdown and his personal experience of censorship into an impressive and unified memoir that should appeal to anyone interested in China.Other Rivers: A Chinese Education is available through Fordham University Libraries: Walsh Library LA1133.7 .H37 2024...

Exploring the First Amendment with Fordham Libraries

Happy Election Day, Rams! The First Amendment to the United States Constitution protects core individual freedoms, including speech, the press, religion, assembly, and petition. It remains one of the most widely studied and discussed parts of American democracy. As conversations about free expression and related rights continue to evolve, Fordham University Libraries offer a variety of resources to support learning, research, and exploration of these important issues.Primary Sources and Historical ContextsStudents and researchers can access extensive primary sources that document the development of First Amendment rights throughout U.S. history. Collections such as America’s Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Congressional, and the U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs database offer valuable insights into legislative debates, judicial decisions, and public discourse. These resources provide essential context for understanding how interpretations of the First Amendment have changed over time. Journals on Constitutional Law and Free SpeechResearchers may also explore top law and constitutional studies journals available through Fordham Libraries, including:Fordham Law ReviewFirst Amendment StudiesCommunication Law and PolicyJournal of Church and State Interdisciplinary PerspectivesThe First Amendment is also central to work in the humanities and social sciences. At Fordham, students and faculty use library collections to explore how free expression shapes community life, ethical debate, and religious experience. By supporting research across many perspectives, the Libraries help deepen understanding of the First Amendment’s role in public life. This Election DayAs Election Day reminds us, public participation depends on open access to ideas and the freedom to question and respond. These protections help sustain a democracy in which people can stay informed, speak up, and hold institutions accountable.Through our collections, instruction, and outreach, the Fordham Libraries encourage thoughtful engagement with public issues and support learners as they navigate complex information environments. Whether preparing to vote, exploring current events, or studying the First Amendment more deeply, students can turn to the Libraries as a trusted partner in civic life.Fordham University Libraries remain committed to equipping the academic community with resources that illuminate the past, present, and future of the First Amendment. Whether through primary sources, scholarly analysis, or interdisciplinary perspectives, the Libraries are a central hub for rigorous research into one of the nation’s most vital constitutional guarantees....

Open Access Week 2025: Who Owns Our Knowledge?

Each October, Fordham University Libraries joins institutions around the world to celebrate International Open Access Week, a global event dedicated to promoting equitable access to research and scholarship. This year’s theme, Who Owns Our Knowledge? asks how, in a time of disruption, communities can reassert control over the knowledge they produce. At its heart, the open access movement asks a simple but powerful question: if scholarship is created to expand our collective understanding, shouldn’t everyone be able to read it? Why Open Access MattersEssentially, open access (OA), is a broad term used to describe materials that are freely disseminated and available to all. Accessible work has no paywall and requires no login authentication to access an otherwise pricey journal article that is usually unavailable to students and academic employees (i.e. university faculty and staff). In short, open access is an umbrella term used to identify information that is free of cost and without restrictions. In traditional academic publishing, access often comes at a price. This process of researching, authoring, and eventually undergoing a peer-review process to publish the work, is known as scholarly communication. However, subscription costs and paywalls can limit who is able to read or cite a piece of research, creating invisible boundaries around knowledge. Open access challenges that system by making scholarly work freely available online, where it can reach students, educators, researchers, and curious readers everywhere.This year’s theme International Open Access Week theme, Who Owns Our Knowledge?, reminds us that information is not a commodity but a shared resource. It also pushes us to think about equity: who gets to publish, whose voices are amplified, and whose work remains hidden behind institutional barriers.For Fordham, this principle aligns perfectly with our Jesuit mission of promoting knowledge in service of others. By supporting open access, the University helps create a more just and collaborative scholarly world where information fuels progress rather than privilege.Overall, open access is a hot-button topic, and accessible databases and repositories are becoming more commonplace within academia. Perhaps you’re already familiar with the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) or the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)? All of this is to say that it’s important that we continue to strive for a world in which more accessible resources are made widely available to all interested researchers. And this Open Access Week is an opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of open access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make open access a new norm in scholarship and research. So, from the Fordham University Libraries to you- Have a splendid Open Access Week! If you have any further questions, please feel free to check out this page on our Scholarly Communication research guide, and as always, you can use our 24/7 chat service, Ask a Librarian. ...

World Mental Health Day October 10 2025

By Jane Suda, Head of Reference & Information Services & Jeannie Hoag, Reference and Assessment Librarian October 10th is World Mental Health Day!Each year, the World Health Organization (WHO) observes World Mental Health Day, an international campaign to raise awareness and mobilize efforts in support of mental health. This year’s theme is Mental Health in Humanitarian Emergencies. The World Federation for Mental Health (WFMH) and WHO have created this WMHD 2025 Campaign Toolkit, which we invite you to explore and consider how our community can provide care and support to those in need during times of crisis. Why the Library?Well-being is comprised of good mental health, physical health, emotional health, and spiritual health. As we strive for wellness, we search for people, experiences, and places that support our journey. The library is a place for searching and discovery; libraries offer spaces and resources for non-judgmental exploration of topics and ideas; libraries can provide escape, refuge, comfort, and community. This blog post will highlight Fordham Library resources to support your mental health wellness journey. Fordham Mental Health ProfessionalsAs members of the Fordham community, we benefit from the wealth of services and support provided by Fordham’s Counseling and Psychological Services (CPS). We recommend that you explore the Wellness Resources for Students available through Fordham CPS, and read this article, On Student Flourishing, by Jeffery Ng, Director of Counseling and Psychological Services at Fordham University, published in Conversations on Jesuit Higher Education. World Mental Health Day Library ResourcesFor StudentsYou've Got This: A Student's Guide to Well-Being at University and Beyond, by Rachael Alexander (2025)Your Brain on Art: How the Arts Transform Us, by Susan Magsamen (2023)Mindfulness in a Digital World, by Dave Harley (2022)For FacultyUnderstanding and Supporting College Students with Empathy: A Guide for Higher Education Practitioners, by Laura Parson (2025)Improving Learning and Mental Health in the College Classroom, by Robert I. Eaton (2023)For EveryoneHandbook of Positive Psychology, Religion, and Spirituality, edited by Edward B. Davis, Everett L. Worthington Jr., and Sarah A. Schnitker (2023)Toxic Positivity: Keeping it Real in a World Obsessed with Being Happy, by Whitney Goodman, LMFT (2022)The Urban Brain: Mental Health in the Vital City, Nikolas Rose and Des Fitzgerald (2022)Online CoursesThe Science of Well-Being, by Laurie Santos. (Yale via Coursera, variable pricing)Managing Happiness, by Arthur Brooks (Harvard via edX, audit for free)Additional resources that you may want to considerNational Alliance on Mental Illness, Mental Health Awareness Week (NAMI) websiteMental health fact sheet from WHO (September 2025)National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) website #WorldMentalHealthDayLooking for something that’s not included here? We have many other resources! Reach out via our 24/7 Ask a Librarian service!...

Welcome to News from the Stacks!

This fall, your Fordham University Libraries can help you:

Leave a comment