Research Guides @ Fordham: Librarian Professional Resources: Organizations/Email Lists/IG

Organizations (some content may be limited to members)

ACRL - Association of College & Research Libraries
ACRL NY Greater New York Metropolitan Chapter of the Association of College & Research Libraries
AHEAD - Association on Higher Education and Disability
AI4LAM - Artificial Intelligence for Libraries, Archives & Museums
AJCU - Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities There is free access to the directory with individual registration. Click "Create a Free Directory Account." Creating an account will not list you in the directory. You will be sent an email to validate your account and then create your own password. An individual Member ID will be issued as well.
ALA - American Library Association
ALA-APA -- ALA Allied Professional Association
ALISE - Association for Library and Information Science Education
ARL - Association of Research Libraries
ASIS&T - Association for Information Science & Technology
ATLA - American Theological Library Association
CALMA - Center for Advances in Libraries, Museusms, & Archives
CAN - Copyright Advisory Network
CLA - Catholic Library Association
CLRC - Central NY Library Resources Council
CNI - Coalition for Networked Information
cOAlition S
COMET - Collaborative Metadata Enrichment Taskforce
Core (ALA)
ALCTS + LITA + LLAMA = Core
COUNTER Metrics
Creative Commons
CRL - Center for Research Libraries
DCN - Data Curation Network
DLF - Digital Library Federation
DPC - Digital Preservation Coalition
ESAC Open community of information professionals dedicated to putting the vision of open access to research into practice.
ESLN - Empire State Library Network
FORCE11 - The Future of Research Communications and e-Scholarship
Forward Libraries
IASSIST - International Association for Social Science Information Service and Technology
ICOLC - International Coalition of Library Consortia
IDS Project The Information Delivery Services (IDS) Project, based in New York, is a mutually supportive resource-sharing cooperative
IFLA - International Federation of Library Associations & Institutions
LAA - Library Accessibility Alliance
LACUNY - Library Association of the City University of New York
Library Futures
Library of Congress
Library Publishing Coalition
LILRC - Long Island Library Resources Council
Lyrasis
METRO - Metropolitan NY Library Council
NASIG - North American Serials Interest Group
NEDCC - Northeast Document Conservation Center
NELA - New England Library Association
NETSL - New England Technical Services Librarians
NISO - National Information Standards Organization
NYATLA - New York Area Theological Library Association
NYLA - New York Library Association
NYS Library
NYTSL - New York Technical Services Librarians
OASPA - Open Access Scholarly Publishing Association
OCLC
OEGlobal - Open Education Global
PALCI - Partnership for Academic Collaboration & Innovation
Project Information Literacy
RBMS - Rare Books and Management Section of ACRL
RDAP - Research Data Access & Preservation Association
RUSA - Reference & User Services Association
S2O Community of Practice
SAA - Society of American Archivists
SLA - Special Libraries Association
Dissolution announced 3/2025
SPARC - Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition
Urban Librarians Unite
VRA - Visual Resources Association
W3C - World Wide Web Consortium
WNYLRC - Western NY Library Resources Council

Interest Groups (IG)

ACRL IG
Core IG (ALA)
more...less...
To join an interest group, follow the link to it, log in with your ALA account, and use the "Join Community" button in the top left-hand corner above the group's name.

Interest group members do not need to be members of Core, or even of ALA. Anyone with an ALA account can join a Core interest group in ALA Connect.
However, archived recordings are free only for members.
IFLA IG
more...less...
Select the Special Interest Group filter
METRO IG

Email Discussion Lists

ACQNET Acquisitions community
more...less...
Comprehensive archives
ACRL Subscribe to e-mail updates and discussion lists
ArchivPres Updates and information about Lyrasis activities in support of digital preservation, archives and special collections
AUTOCAT cataloging related
more...less...
Click on menu button to subscribe
BUSLIB Business info related
Core eForums - ALA
more...less...
For more info.
EBSCO EDS
ERIL Electronic Resources In Libraries
ExLibris Lists
more...less...
Includes Serials Solutions (Summon list)
Global Conservation Forum for conservators and collection care professionals
IFLA extensive mailing lists
JISC Email discussion lists for the UK Education and Research communities. Extensive mailing lists with relevance to communities outside the UK as well.
LIBLICENSE licensing related
Library of Congress Cataloging Discussion Lists
Library of Congress Discussion Lists
Lyrasis
LyrOffers To learn about offers specifically for Lyrasis member libraries
LyrOpen
more...less...
Open Access Programs
MarcEdit
METRO
METRO Interest Groups
NELA New England Library Association
NYLINE New York's Libraries Information Network
NYSED
OCLC
OEGlobal Connect Open Education Global
Open Cafe open scholarship – including open access, open science, open data, etc
RBMS Rare Books and Management Section of ACRL
SERIALIST serials related
SPARC Open Education Forum (formerly LIBOER) Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition
VideoLib relating to video formats
Web4Lib An electronic discussion for library-based World-Wide Web managers.
WebAIM: Accessibility Discussion List

Librarian Professional Resources: Organizations/Email Lists/IG

Organizations (some content may be limited to members)

Interest Groups (IG)

Email Discussion Lists

Serials & E-Resources Dept