Research Guides @ Fordham: Latin American Studies: Getting Started

Latin American Studies at Fordham

Latin American and Latino Studies Institute (LALSI)
The Latin American and Latino Studies Institute is an interdisciplinary program offering majors and minors.
Student Organzations at Lincoln Center
- Student Organization of Latinx (SOL)
Student Organizations at Rose Hill
- Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting
- Candela Latina
- El Grito de Lares

Library Help

General Resources

Hispanic American Historical Review
Issues from 1918 to 1999 are open access; issues from 2000 to present require Fordham authentication.
HAPI Online
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs since 1991. Includes working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. Some resources have partial content only!
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of minority newspapers and magazines since 1991.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for hundreds of journals and indexing and abstracts for thousands. Also features hundreds of full-text reference books and monographs, and conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
From the Library of Congress, a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

Encyclopedia of Latin America by Anders N. Toft (Editor)
New York: Nova, 2021. Electronic resource; authentication is required.

Liaison

Jeannie Hoag

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library, Room 127
jhoag@fordham.edu

718-817-3555

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Liaison

Peter Patten

Contact:

Walsh Library Room 131
Rose Hill Campus

ppatten@fordham.edu

718 817 3588

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)