Research Guides @ Fordham: Jesuit Studies: Databases &amp; Web Sources

Jesuit Databases

Jesuit Historiography Online This link opens in a new window
Over seventy summaries of key texts from the earlier literature, painstaking surveys of more recent work, and digests of archival and online resources. Global scope covering both Anglophone and non-Anglophone sources and scholarship from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas.
Jesuit Online Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. Editorial oversight from the Archivum Romanum Societatis Iesu, the Jesuitica Project at KU Leuven, and the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies at Boston College.
Jesuit Relations This link opens in a new window
The original french, latin, and italian texts with english translations and notes.
Jesuit Studies Portal by Boston College This link opens in a new window
The Portal grants online access to a curated and searchable collection of primary sources and secondary scholarship related to the history, spirituality, educational heritage, and pedagogy approach of the Society of Jesus.
Included databases are: Essential Documents, International Symposia on Jesuit Studies, Jesuit Historiography Online, Jesuit Online Bibliography, Jesuit Online Library, Jesuit Sources, Jesuitica Directory, Studies in the Spirituality of Jesuits, and Journal of Jesuit Studies.

ATLA Research Guide on The Jesuits

The Jesuits
A Research Guide from Atla's CRRA Program. This research guide on the Jesuits will link you to electronic collections of materials on the Jesuits available online, as well as to links that will search the CRRA Portal for books and other materials about the Society of Jesus, as well as texts by and works about St. Ignatius Loyola and the other co-founders of the order.

St. Ignatius

Religion Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Worldwide index of books, journal articles, reviews and essays in all fields of religion with many links to full text. Includes all ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA)
Merged with ATLA Religion Database
Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques This link opens in a new window
Information covering five continents and a vast chronological period ranging from Antiquity to contemporary times.
Fordham Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of purchased books published by Fordham University Press in History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion and Political Science.
GlobeTheoLib (No longer available)
Integrated into Globethics Library
Index Religiosus - Brepols Religion Cluster This link opens in a new window
International reference bibliography covering the full range of disciplines in Theology and Canon Law; History of Theology, History of Religions, Old and New Testaments, Fundamental and Dogmatic Theology, Sacramentology and Liturgy, Moral and Pastoral Theology, and Canon Law. Covers publications in many European languages including the Dictionnaire d’histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques, Die Bischöfe des Heiligen Römischen Reiches, the Library of Latin Texts, and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd Edition 2003) This link opens in a new window
Ceased after 2nd ed. (2003). Go to Table of Content for full text. For Supplements see Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.)
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Religious & Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.

Selected Journals

Internet Resources

America Magazine
America magazine was founded by the Society of Jesus in 1909 as a Catholic weekly review of faith and culture. The first editor in chief was John J. Wynne, S.J. (1859-1948), who also conceived the idea of the Catholic Encyclopedia. Search the library catalog for the print edition of America. The current website was launched in January 2017 as America: The Jesuit Review of Faith & Culture."
Archives of Jesuits in Canada
This is the official website of the Jesuits of Canada.
Association of Jesuit Colleges & Universities
There are 28 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States, located in 18 states and the District of Columbia. They are part of a larger network of 221 Catholic institutions and 1,600 independent colleges and universities in the United States. American Jesuit colleges and universities are part of a network of approximately 189 Jesuit institutions of higher learning throughout the world. They have the distinction of being at once local, national and international.
CRRA Research Guide on the Jesuits
A link to the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) research guide on the Jesuits.
Jesuit.org
This is the official website of the Society of Jesus, a Roman Catholic order of priests and brothers founded half a millennium ago by the soldier-turned-mystic Ignatius Loyola.
The Jesuit Curia in Rome
This is the official website of the Jesuit Curia in Rome. Jesuits from around the world gather to form one community of between 40-50 members, the General Curia community.
Jesuits USA Northeast Province
This is the official website of the USA Northeast Province of the Jesuits. The Northest Province region includes eight states: New York, northern New Jersey, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut.

Jesuit Studies: Databases & Web Sources

Jesuit Databases

ATLA Research Guide on The Jesuits

St. Ignatius

Religion Databases

Selected Journals

Internet Resources

Reference & Instruction Department