Research Guides @ Fordham: Immigration: Finding Books &amp; Articles

Library Catalogs

► Library Catalog

The new Library Catalog is still being refined. Follow these steps to target your search within the catalog:

Step #1: Select Library Catalog from the dropdown menu.

Step #2: Select the field you would like to search in the library catalog.

Step #3: Enter your keywords and press Search.

Additional search tips:

If the font is too small or the blue & maroon colors are difficult to read, select Advanced Search option.

► Classic Library Catalog

Find the Classic Library Catalog by pulling down the Collections menu > Classic Library Catalog:

Click here for a short video tutorial on using the Classic Library Catalog.

Background Information

Consulting reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks) can help you understand a topic and generate keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes a mix of scholarly content on significant events, topics, and people in U.S. history.

Image credit: "Ellis Island, New York" postcard via New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Understanding Different Types of Sources

Unsure about how to identify different types of sources? Consult these resources for help:

Try this short tutorial from the library covering Articles & Databases for a quick refresher on types of sources.

Consult this explanation of Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources from Choosing and Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research by OSU Libraries.

Confused about scholarly and peer reviewed articles? Watch Peer Review in 3 Minutes by NCSU Libraries for quick explanation.

You can always chat live with a librarian to get research help as well.

Finding Scholarly Articles with Library Databases

Library databases aggregate content from journals, magazines, and newspapers. For a wider search across many publications on a topic, trying using a library database to search for articles.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of academic journals with access to full text.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects published since 1971.

Additional Library Services & Resources

Explore other Fordham research guides that cover your topic. See the full list here.

Try our Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals video to locate articles from a citation.

Need an electronic scan of a book chapter or article from the library's print collection? Try our Document Delivery Service to receive scans via email.

Need items for your research that Fordham does not own? Submit a request to Interlibrary Loan.

Image credit: U.S. Customs and Immigration buildings at the U.S. - Mexico border via San Diego History Center/Online Archive of California.

Immigration: Finding Books & Articles

Immigration & U.S. History

Library Catalogs

Background Information

Understanding Different Types of Sources

Finding Scholarly Articles with Library Databases

Additional Library Services & Resources

Reference & Instruction Department