It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DATABASES : M
Find the best library databases for your research.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection includes the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
A collaborative effort between the University of Michigan and Cornell University, these two institutions developed a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Online access to foreign and international legal literature. Includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs, sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries, in International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law; Roman Law; Islamic Law; Jewish Law; and Ancient Law.
Historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Sourced from the law libraries of Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University.
Millions of pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832-1978. An essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history and the U.S. judicial system.
Brief biographies of over 1.4 million people from all fields: government, business, science, technology, the arts, entertainment, sports. Please click log off link when finished, access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Access available to the following titles:
Who's Who Among Human Services Professionals
Who's Who in 20th Century America
Who's Who in America
Who's Who in American Art
Who's Who in American Education
Who's Who in American History
Who's Who in American Law
Who's Who in American Nursing
Who's Who in American Politics
Who's Who in Asia
Who's Who in Corporate America
Who's Who in Entertainment
Who's Who in Finance & Business
Who's Who in Media & Communications
Who's Who in Medicine & Healthcare
Who's Who in Religion
Who's Who in Science and Engineering
Who's Who in the East
Who's Who in the Midwest
Who's Who in the South & Southwest
Who's Who in the West
Who's Who in the World
Who's Who of American Women
Who's Who of Emerging Leaders in America
From American Mathematical Society. The electronic version of Mathematical Reviews, presents a fully searchable database with many tools designed to help navigate the mathematical sciences literature. Math reviews: index to mathematical literature from 1940 to present.
This archival collection, comprising over four-million letters, covers a chronological span from 1537 to 1743. It documents the political, diplomatic, gastronomic, economic, artistic, scientific, military and medical culture of early modern Tuscany and Europe.
Digitized books and manuscripts principally from the major collections of government records of England, Ireland, and Scotland concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc.
Essential texts covering the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasion, MMSO brings alive the reality of life in the medieval world through these first hand accounts. ACCESS ONLY TO CONTENT WITH BLUE & YELLOW OPEN LOCK SYMBOL.
The world’s largest medical library, it has free and reliable consumer-oriented health information about diseases, conditions, treatments, drugs, clinical trials, supplements and wellness issues. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Enhances Mergent Online with details of public and private companies in the US and worldwide. Includes contact information, financials, and key personnel. Note: You may need to enter your Fordham email address to access some of the content in this database.
Complete run of the Moody's/Mergent manuals. Covers corporate histories, properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and financial statements.
With the exception of the Municipal and Government, the database covers the following manuals: Industrial (1920-present), Public Utility (1914-present), OTC Industrial (1970-present), OTC Unlisted (1986-present), Transportation (1909-present), International (1981-present), Bank and Finance (1928-present).
Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more.Use Firefox for best results.
Bibliographic and full text database that provides comprehensive area coverage for Middle East and Africa. Specific focus is on political and social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries.
Military and Intelligence provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Produced by the Modern Language Association, provides details of publication, contact information, submission requirements and other information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this subject index dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Covers modern languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Does not include MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Companion site to the MLA Handbook that features guidelines on formatting a research paper, sample papers in MLA style, a chapter on plagiarism and academic dishonesty republished from the handbook, resources for teaching, regularly updated tips on writing, and an FAQ by the MLA’s editors. Free resource designed as a supplement to the handbook, it covers aspects of writing not addressed in depth in the book. Does not contain full text of the handbook. Consult print format.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Catalog of music content to support the teaching and research of music. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative rock to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats—including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Comprehensive collection of materials for the study of music, covering every time period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region. Encyclopedias, scores, manuscripts, biographies, oral histories and interviews and other reference texts that make up the core of music curricula around the world.
Provides a suite of online audio recordings to support the teaching of American musical traditions including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and more.
Essential reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Comprehensive video resource for the study of classical music. Users experience classical music through 1,600 performances, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.
Fully searchable classical music resource containing 53,000 recordings and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.
Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and others.
Comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Browse and search hundreds of articles about the music of every continent. The rich content brings a new dimension to the study of history, sociology, diversity, cultural anthropology, and other disciplines.
Collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Interdisciplinary resource allows for cross-searching the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts.
Music journal resource with more than 1.3 million articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals. Former title: International Index of Music Periodicals
The following icons are used in the databases lists:
Limited simultaneous users.
Open access content.
Contains multimedia content such as music or video.