Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books & E-books
For more items, search the Fordham Library Catalog.
Building Students' Historical Literacies: Learning to Read and Reason With Historical Texts and Evidence by
Call Number: D16.3.N47 2013 (RH)
New York, NY: Routledge, 2013.
Connecting Kids to History with Museum Exhibitions by
Call Number: AM7.C596 2010 (LC)
Walnut Creek, CA: Left Coast Press, 2010.
Now More Than Ever: "Social Studies" in the Twenty-First Century by
Call Number: H62.B79 2007 (LC)
Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 2007.
Teaching History in the Digital Age by
Call Number: D16.255.C65 K45 2013 (RH)
Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan, 2013.
Teaching U. S. History: Dialogues Among Social Studies Teachers and Historians by
Call Number: LB175.8.T43 2009 (LC)
New York, NY: Routledge, 2009.
(For middle or secondary school teachers)
Teaching Young Children Social Studies by
Call Number: LB1139.5.S64 M56 2006 (WC)
Westport, CT: Praeger, 2006.
Campus Library Designations
RH = Walsh Library at Rose Hill, Bronx
LC = Quinn Library at Lincoln Center
WC = Westchester Campus Library (Fordham Westchester Library)
Web Content: Social Studies, History, Geography
American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory "provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience throughout history." Features a "Today in History" section. Browse by time period, format, or place.
Best of History Websites
"An award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history Web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."
Hover over the heading Teachers (Free Resources) in the top blue area.
U.S. National Archives
Click on the DOCS TEACH link to find tools for teaching using primary documents, including many interactive activities. Professional development for teachers, lesson plans, school tours, and state and regional resources are available as well as links to teaching document analysis and the correlation to the National History Standards.
Federal Reserve Education
" A resource of the Federal Reserve, thie Web site provides a centralized database of metadata for lesson plans and other educational materials produced by the economic education efforts of each of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks." Designed for teachers of K-12 students, adults, and college students. May search by title or keyword, grade level, topic, or type/format. Grade-level games & simulations, publications available.
Kids in the House
This Web site "is a public service provided by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives. [Their]mission is to provide educational and entertaining information about the legislative branch of the United States Government to students of all ages. Topics covered include the role of the U.S. House of Representatives, the legislative process, and House history."
National Council for the Social Studies
This international council is "the largest association in the country devoted to social studies education" and supports elementary, secondary, and college educators in the fields of history, civics, geography, economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, and law-related education.
Popular Geography Printables, K-5
From the site TeacherVision (sic)
Large collection of public domain photos and cliparts
State Facts for Students
From the U.S. Census. Teachers may download the "Picture Your State" lesson plan.
Teachers' Classroom Materials
From the Library of Congress; lessons for teachers to teach with primary documents
This U.S. Geological Survey/U.S. Department of the Interior site includes educational material for primary and secondary students as well as for undergraduates. Many videos and additional classroom materials are freely available online in the areas of astrogeology, biology, climate change, earthquakes, tsunamis, and more. Site includes repositories, reports, publications, maps, and photography.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)