COMC 2329 - Media Industries (Prof. Freeman): COMC 2329 Course Page

Many of the library's most recent periodical subscriptions are available electronically. For that reason, the E-Journals tab on the Library's homepage may be the fastest way to find out if the library provides access to recent issues of that publication and, if so, where.

When you click on the E-Journals Tab, you will see the Serials Solutions page, where you can search for the title of your publication.

Serials Solutions will provide a listing of the options for full-text access to this specific periodical.

Select the full-text option that provides access to the specific dates you need.

Pay close attention to the notes regarding the limits or accuracy of the holdings within the database.

Alternatively, you may search the Library OneSearch for a periodical title to determine if the library provides access to the "Useful Trade Source" you have selected, and if so, which database contains the full text of the trade magazine, newspaper, newsletter, journal, or other periodical.

The periodical you are looking for will often be the first item listed in the Library OneSearch.

Click on Retrieve Catalog Item, and you will be brought to the Enterprise Catalog record for that publication, then find the words "Click here for full text" to link out to the Serials Solutions listing.

The OneSearch provides a Permalink in their Share feature that you may use to save a link to that publication in our collection (the Permalink is how you should save this record; do not copy the address in your browser toolbar).

The trade publications in the Library collection will give you a choice to "Search within this publication" using keywords, or browse the recent issues to identify recurring topics, ideas, resources, or behaviors that reveal a trend.

Each database and electronic resource provided by the Library is slightly different, the screen shots here show just one example. If you need additional help, reach out to a Reference Librarian.

Search Tips

• Initially, once you are inside the library access to a publication, browsing the most recent issues may be a more effective way to identify your trend.
• Make sure you stay within the date limit provided by your Professor. 
• If you are using the "Search Within this Publication" option, use Boolean operators to string similar variant words together. Use truncation to find variant word endings.
• Many databases sort results by Relevance; instead, sort by Most Recent or Newest first.
• Be careful not to search the entire database for your topic. Stay within the specific approved publication. If you click on a hyperlinked subject heading, you will initiate a new search outside of the specific publication you started searching.

Examples of searching within the publication:

• Use quotation marks for a phrase : (JN "Variety") AND "tax credits"
• Use the OR operator to search multiple related keywords : (JN "Advertising Age") AND (ai or artificial intelligence or machine learning)
• Use the asterisk to search variant endings of a keyword : (JN "Publishers Weekly") AND (censor* OR ban*) AND books

Tracking your industry trend

• Write down the specific words, technologies, regulations, individuals, and companies that are associated with this trend.
• Be careful not to confuse a new product with an industry trend (the new product reflects the trend but is not the trend)
• Collect citation information

If Fordham does not provide access to the publication you need, you may want to check the NYPL catalog to see if it is available there. Keep in mind that many websites do not have a partner publication, so their content may not be available via the Fordham or NYPL libraries.

Jane Suda, Head of Reference & Information Services

jsuda@fordham.edu (one-on-one zoom consultations provided on request)