Research Guides @ Fordham: Art History: Journals & Databases

Art Databases

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to hundreds of periodicals, trade publications and books with links to full text when available.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, dating back to the late 1960s.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. All Open Content, Journal Collections, and Reports are available to Fordham users. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Resources for art research including Grove Art Online - the world's largest art encyclopedia and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box! Subscription DOES NOT INCLUDE Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

Searching for Journal Articles and Secondary Materials

Enhance the power of your search with a database's thesaurus.

Many databases use specific subject terms. If your search terms aren't the same, you might miss out on relevant articles.

Look for a thesaurus within the database. Usually accessible via a link at the top, the thesaurus will suggest search terms for you to use.

(Not all databases have a thesaurus.)

Select Electronic Journals

The library may own one journal in multiple formats (electronic, print, and microform). For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, please consult the catalog.

Art History: Journals & Databases

Art Databases

Searching for Journal Articles and Secondary Materials

Select Electronic Journals

Reference & Instruction Department