Skip to main content

Hogan Steel Archive: Books & References

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy

Books and References

The Archive’s collection of steel books and references, including the yearbooks and proceedings of world steel organizations, encompasses 390 titles and more than 1,700 volumes. There are 203 book titles, including Father Hogan’s own books, and 187 references, a number of which have been cited in the archival description above. The collection includes the Annual Reports of every major U.S. steel-producing company from 1900 to the present, every Annual Statistical Report of the American Iron and Steel Institute from 1916 to the present, and every AISI Iron and Steel Works Directory dating back to 1890. After 1984, steel-plant information common to the AISI Works Directory was incorporated into the Directory, Iron and Steel Plants of the Association of Iron and Steel Engineers (AISE). The Archive contains the 1974-2002 editions of the AISE Directory , and various editions of Metal Bulletin’s Iron and Steelworks of the World for 1956-99.

Among the Archive’s statistical references are the Steel Statistical Yearbook of the International Iron and Steel Institute (IISI) for various years in 1980-96, the IISI publication World Steel in Figures for 1978-99, the Monthly Report of Iron & Steel Statistics of the Japan Iron and Steel Federation (JISF) for 1973-99, Metal Statistics from American Metal Market (AMM) for 1945, 1961, and 1968-2000, and published data and information from such sources as the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers (AIME), the American Iron Ore Association (AIOA), the British Iron and Steel Federation (BISF), Instituto Brasileiro de Siderurgia (IBS), Instituto Latinamericano del Fierro y el Acero (ILAFA), the Korea Iron and Steel Association (KOSA), and Wirtschaftsvereinigung Stahl. Finally, the Archive contains various editions of United States Steel Corporation’s The Making, Shaping and Treating of Steel for 1951-98, the later editions of which were published by the AISE Foundation.