Skip to main content

Hogan Steel Archive: IERI Study Files

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy

IERI STUDY FILES

The study-files section of the Hogan Steel Archive contains 135 steel and steel-related studies by Fordham University ’s Industrial Economics Research Institute (IERI). The studies, which date from the early 1960’s through 1995, represent a significant portion of the Institute’s work, its other studies having been included in the Archive’s country and technology files and its book and reference collection. Many IERI studies were initiated internally, and others were conducted at the request of various federal, state, and local government agencies in the United States, for such organizations as the United Nations, World Bank, and Interamerican Development Bank, and for companies in 26 countries: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, New Zealand, the Philippines, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Venezuela.

IERI Studies

This section’s 140 document files contain IERI studies on air-pollution control, automobile wheel steel, blast furnaces in the U.S., blast furnaces and coke ovens in the U.S. and North America, BOF and electric furnaces in the U.S., Canada-U.S. iron-ore interdependence, Canadian steel industry, carbon-graphite industry in the U.S., coal injection at U.S. blast furnaces, coke industry in the U.S., coke supply and demand in the U.S., cokemaking facilities in the U.S., coking coal for Japan, cold finished steel bar industry, compact strip production concepts, concrete reinforcing bar supply and demand in the U.S., continuous casting, costs and prices in the U.S., depreciable lives of steel mill equipment, direct reduction in the U.S., direct reduction in Johnstown and McKeesport, earnings in the steel industry, Ecomet process, electric furnaces at integrated steel plants, electric furnace water-cooled roofs, electric furnace plants in Arkansas, financing problems in steel, Formcoke in the U.S., foundry coke and ferrous castings, Gara Djebilet iron ore project, hot rolled sheet and strip market, iron ore supply and demand in the U.S. and world, and joint-venture ironmaking in Youngstown.

Continuing, the files also contain IERI studies on lake ore carriers, lower lake ore prices, Manual on the Modern Iron and Steel Industry for the United Nations, metallurgical coal in the U.S. and the world, minimill studies, minimill for the Brooklyn Navy Yard, pickling and galvanizing for minimills, plant location survey in the U.S., plate supply and demand, prices of steel products, prices and steel demand, primary metals industry in the U.S., prompt industrial scrap supply, purchased ferrous scrap, purchasing and processing of steel, refractories industry in the U.S., scrap in New York City, seamless pipe and tube, semifinished steel, service center concept, service center survey, service centers and minimills, sheet capacity in the U.S., slab market, specialty steels, steel companies, steel demand and capital costs, steel industries in the U.S. and Canada, steel industry overview, steel output sectional analysis, structural market in New York City, technological changes in steel, U. S. steel industry externals, U.S. steel industry financial condition, welded wire fabric market, West Coast steel supply, wide cold reduced sheet in the U.S. and Japan, wide flange beams, wire market in the U.S., wire facilities, world steel developments, and world steel prospects.