Skip to main content

Hogan Steel Archive: Steel Photo Files

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy

STEEL PHOTO FILES

The Hogan Steel Archive’s photo-files section contains chronologically ordered photographs and slides that portray the steel industry’s essential relationships with the major steel-consuming industries over the last century, as well as the evolution of iron and steel technology from primitive times to the present. In all, the section’s 251 photo files contain 791 photographs, 323 slides, and 10 filmstrips, most of which depict changes over time in either steel production or consumption and thereby visually underscore both the steel industry’s technical development and its key role in the development of other basic heavy industries.

Steel Photos

The Archive’s photographs, most of which are 8x10 black and white glossies, depict annealing (box, continuous), automobile industry (early wood bodies, all-steel bodies, assembly lines, plants, stamping presses, highways), bar mills , basic-oxygen furnaces (charging, blowing, pouring), Bessemer process, billet mills, blast furnaces (primitive, early, modern), blooming mills , coal (mining, transport, coal chemicals), coke (beehive, byproduct, H.C. Frick Coke Co.), cold rolling, continuous casting (slab and strip), COREX ironmaking, cupola furnaces, direct reduction, electric-arc furnaces, environmental control, forging , galvanizing, hot-strip mills (hand mills, Armco’s original mill, modern mills), ingots (pouring, stripping, handling, soaking pits), iron ore (mining, transport, storage, pellets), limestone, (quarrying, transport, stockpiles), machine shop , mining equipment (mining machines, loaders, shuttle cars), oil and gas (drilling, collecting, refining, transport, marketing), open-hearth furnaces (plant views, charging, tapping), pickling, pig casting, pipe (butt-weld, seamless, “U-ing and O-ing,” transport), plant overviews, plate mills (hand and modern mills, heat treating, loading), rail mills, railroads (locomotives, passenger cars, Third Avenue El, Union Station, Grand Central), research labs, rod mills, sintering machines, skelp mills (mill stands, candying table), slabbing mills, stainless steel facilities, structural mills, temper mills, tinplate (hand mills, annealing, hot-dip and electrolytic lines, shearing, base boxes, inspection, packaging), and wire mills.

Steel Slides

The Archive’s steel slides, mainly 35mm and in both color and black and white, depict the various steps in iron and steel production, from the receipt of iron ore and scrap to the rolling of finished steel products. The slides show the mining and transport of raw materials, stockpiles of scrap, beehive and byproduct cokemaking, blast-furnace ironmaking, steelmaking (using the Bessemer, open-hearth, electric-arc, and BOF furnaces), degassing, primary rolling, continuous slab casting, scarfing, the hot-strip-mill rolling of sheets, the rolling of plates and rods, and the processing of wire products. The slides show Bethlehem Steel Corporation’s Burns Harbor plant under construction, and the entire flow of production at Northwestern Steel & Wire Company. Also in the collection are slides depicting the use of steel by a number of the major steel-consuming industries, including the automobile, railroad, electric-utility, and oil and gas industries. They include scenes from early automobile manufacturing plants, the early U.S. oil and gas industry, and the New York City transportation system. Finally, the collection includes ten canisters of 35mm filmstrips on the steel and oil and gas industries, as well as on various civic and economic subjects.