Skip to main content

Hogan Steel Archive: Countries, Steel-Producing

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy

Steel-Production Internationally

The Archive contains 1,333 document files providing information and data on the steel industries and associated industrial activities in the following 56 countries and world regions: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium-Luxembourg, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Denmark, ECSC, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Lebanon, Libya, Mexico, Mid-East, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Trinidad and Tobago, Taiwan, Turkey, Uganda, USSR and Russia, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Vietnam, and the World.

A unique perspective on national and international steel developments over much of the last century is afforded by the document files for each country, which contain diverse information on their steel industries, as well as for individual steel companies and plants. The information, which varies in content and scope from country to country, covers a broad array of economic, corporate, commercial, financial, technical, and governmental subjects.

The major subjects covered include the following: national and regional economic conditions and data, indigenous and imported raw materials, domestic energy supplies, steel-industry statistics, steel-industry and company histories and profiles, steel-plant feasibility studies, plant profiles and visitor’s brochures, plant capacities, shipbuilding plants, plant closings, steel facility descriptions and evaluations, technology and process utilization, steel-market conditions and surveys, steel consumption per capita, product information and quality programs, production data and forecasts, production costs, labor costs and industrial relations, capital input per worker, freight costs, bulk-carriers, steel shipments and pricing, competitive conditions, steel imports and exports, trade agreements, trade association profiles, financial reports, corporate strategies, capacity expansion and replacement, profitability, capital-investment needs, sources and uses of funds, overseas financing, credit-facility memoranda, restructurings, bankruptcies, diversification, privatization, environmental reports, technical and engineering bulletins, press releases, speeches, correspondence, government steel plans, tax policies, and government regulation.

Further information on the world’s steel-producing countries is provided in the steel book and reference collection, which contains a number of corporate and industry histories; the Steel Statistical Yearbook of IISI; the annual statistical reports published in a number of countries, including Brazil, China, Germany, Japan, Korea, the United Kingdom, and the United States; steel reports prepared by the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), the Latin American Iron and Steel Institute (ILAFA), and the United Nations; and Metal Bulletin’s Iron and Steel Works of the World. Finally, extensive information on the steel-producing countries is contained in five of Father Hogan’s books: World Steel in the 1980’s, Global Steel in the 1990’s, Capital Investment in Steel, Steel in the 21 st Century, The Steel Industry of China , and The POSCO Strategy.