Skip to main content

Hogan Steel Archive: Companies, in U.S.

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy

Companies in the US

The Archive contains 280 document files on steel companies in the United States. Information in the files, some dating from the 1860’s, relates both to currently operating companies and to those no longer in existence for a variety of reasons, including corporate reorganizations, bankruptcies, sales, acquisitions, mergers, and takeovers by conglomerate corporations.

The files provide information on the following 65 companies: Acme Steel Co., Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., A.M. Byers Co., American Bridge Co., American Sheet Steel Co., American Steel & Wire Co. of New Jersey, American Steel Hoop Co., American Tinplate Co., American Rolling Mill Co., Atlantic Steel Co., BRW Steel Corp., Bayou Steel Corp., Bessemer Steamship Co., Bethlehem Steel Corp., Birmingham Steel Corp., Cambria Steel Co., Cascade Steel Rolling Mills, Inc., Colorado Fuel & Iron Co., Commercial Metals Co., Connecticut Steel Corp., Continental Steel Corp., Copperweld Steel Co., Cyclops Corp., Detroit Steel Corp., Edgewater Steel Co., Federal Steel Co., Ford Steel Division, Geneva Steel Co., Georgetown Steel Corp., Granite City Steel Co., Gulf States Steel Co., Inland Steel Co., Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., Kaiser Steel Corp., LTV Corp., Lake Superior Consolidated Iron Mines, Latrobe Steel Co., Lukens Steel Co., McLouth Steel Co., NVF/Sharon Steel Corp., National Enameling and Stamping Co., National Steel Corp., National Tube Co., New Jersey Steel Corp., North Star Steel Co., Nucor Corp., Oregon Steel Mills, Inc., Phoenix Iron Co., Phoenix Steel Corp., Pittsburgh Steel Co., Republic Steel Corp., Roanoke Electric Steel Corp., Schnitzer Steel Industries, Sharon Steel Co., Sharon Steel Hoop Co., Shelby Steel Tube Co. of New Jersey, Simonds Steel Mills, Taylor-Wharton Iron & Steel Co., United States Steel Corp., Warren Consolidated Industries, Inc., Weirton Steel Co., Wheatland Tube Co., Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp., Wisconsin Steel Co., and Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co.

Information in the files varies from company to company and extends to the following major subjects: company histories, company and plant profiles, facility descriptions, visitor’s brochures, operating reports, product information, market analyses, production and shipments data, production by plant, production-cost analyses, wage and price information, financial reports, sources and uses of funds, profit-sharing agreements, private placements, partnerships, acquisitions, capital appropriations, modernization and expansion, strategic plans, facility retirements, plant closings, reorganizations, corporate correspondence, technical papers, congressional testimony, speeches, and management biographies.

Additional information on U.S. steel companies is contained in the United States sub-division of the category “countries, steel-producing,” as well as in a number of the Archive’s books and references, including its collection of steel-company Annual Reports and the AISI Iron and Steel Works Directory.

Analysis: During the twentieth century, the U. S. steel industry’s roster of active companies underwent recurring change. This was particularly the case during periods of widespread consolidation and restructuring, starting in the early 1900’s with the formation of United States Steel Corporation, next with the wave of conglomerate takeovers, mergers, and bankruptcies during the mid-1960’s through the 1970’s, and finally, with the onset of buyouts and mergers in the early 2000’s.

While consolidation was removing names from the corporate roster, the addition of new companies resulted from the construction of steel plants during World War II and, starting in the early 1960’s, from the development of minimill technology, which significantly lowered the barriers to entering the steel business and led to the formation of many new corporate entities, including Nucor Corporation, which was to become the largest producer of steel and recycler of steel scrap in the United States.