Skip to main content

Hogan Steel Archive: Introduction

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy

Introduction

The “Hogan Steel Archive,” representing a three-year collaborative effort of the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections and Fordham’s Industrial Economics Research Institute, commemorates and preserves the remarkable steel legacy of the late Rev. William T. Hogan, S.J. (1919-2002), who came to be known the world over as the “Steel Priest.”

During a distinguished 52-year teaching career here at Fordham, Father Hogan earned well-deserved recognition as a true innovator in economic education and taught generations of students about industrial interdependence and the steel industry’s vital role in economic and industrial development. Created in Father’s honor, the Hogan Steel Archive transforms the invaluable steel information he assembled during his life’s work into a permanent educational resource for use by students, researchers, scholars, and all those seeking knowledge about the domestic and world steel industries.

Administered by Walsh Library and the Department of Economics, the Archive carries forward Fordham's longstanding tradition, established by Father Hogan, as a leading center for steel-industry information.

The Archive contains thousands of steel-document files, hundreds of books and photographs, and an extensive collection of international steel references and statistics, together comprising a uniquely comprehensive resource for learning about steel. The Archive’s content was categorized and annotated with respectful memory of Father Hogan by his longtime Fordham colleague, Frank T. Koelble, who also authored the content for this website. The Archive resides at the Walsh Library’s Department of Archives and Special Collections; was cataloged there by a dedicated team of student assistants, headed by Thomas Raj, Nancy Rinaldi, and Kerriann Barry; and benefited from the expertise of Fordham archivists Patrice Kane and Vivian Shen. The website was constructed by Michael Considine and Yuqing Zhang of Walsh Library's Electronic Information Center.

The success of this endeavor is testimony to the thoughtful generosity of Father Hogan’s family, friends, steel colleagues, and steel companies from around the world, whose participation in honoring Father is profoundly appreciated.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)