Research Guides @ Fordham: Irish Studies: Finding Scholarly Articles

Articles & Databases

This page highlights databases and selected journals used to help find articles at Fordham University Libraries.

A periodical is a journal, magazine or newspaper published regularly on a schedule. Researchers can look up periodicals individually or search on a topic across many periodicals through a database.

Library databases may contain a combination of peer-reviewed articles as well as reports, book reviews, opinion pieces, datasets, images, videos, archival content, and more.

Unsure about the different kinds of articles? Popular versus scholarly? Peer-reviewed? Try this short tutorial from the library covering Articles & Databases to learn more or refresh your memory.

If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to Ask a Librarian to point you in the right direction.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Library databases aggregate content from many sources including journals, magazines, and newspapers. Databases allow researchers to search across many publications on a topic.

JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of academic journals in full text, including the JSTOR Ireland collection.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject index dates back to the 1920s containing millions of citations from journals, series, and books. Covers modern languages, literature, folklore, linguistics, theatre, film, and more.

Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of literary criticism from classical to modern times.

Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971.

Selected Scholarly Journals in Irish Studies

This section contains a selection of subscription-based journals in Irish Studies for browsing.

The American Journal of Irish Studies
Béaloideas : The Journal of the Folklore of Ireland Society
Éire-Ireland
Fordham holds print copies in the stacks from 1968-2003, and digital access from 1994-present. Check the catalog for specifics.
Eolas: The Journal of the American Society of Irish Medieval Studies
Ériu
Irish Studies Review
New Hibernia Review / Iris Éireannach Nua
Peritia : Journal of the Medieval Academy of Ireland

Searching for Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

Find articles from a citation or check to see if Fordham subscribes to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper:

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals (Video)
Watch this video to learn how to look up journals, magazines, and newspapers individually from a citation.

Requesting Articles from ILL

Found an article but Fordham does not subscribe to the journal? Request it through InterLibrary Loan.

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.

Irish Studies: Finding Scholarly Articles

Articles & Databases

Finding Scholarly Articles

Selected Scholarly Journals in Irish Studies

Searching for Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

Requesting Articles from ILL

Reference & Instruction Department