Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: Science Media and News

Video Resources

Search through our streaming video databases to find science lab experiments, dissections, explanations of scientific concepts, documentaries, lectures, technology tutorials, and more.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
PBS Videos have been removed. More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes Dance, Music, Classical Performance, and Opera in Video. MUST STAY ON THE ACADEMIC VIDEO CHANNEL - DO NOT CLICK ON CHANNELS LINK. DO NOT EMBED LINKS OR CODE IN BLACKBOARD TO AVOID REMOTE AUTHENTICATION ISSUES. Rather, share the database-generated links via email, chat, or syllabi. What's New (and Some HIGHLIGHTS) in Academic Video Online...
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Thousands of videos of movies, documentaries, foreign films and more.
Use desktop or laptop to view videos. DO NOT use mobile app.
RECORDS NOT IN CATALOG. PLEASE CHECK CURRENT AVAILABILITY OF YOUR SELECTED VIDEO. ACQUISITION IS LIMITED TO FORDHAM FACULTY. SELECT THE VIDEO THEN COMPLETE THE POP-UP FORM USING FORDHAM EMAIL. YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED WHEN THE VIDEO IS AVAILABLE. STUDENTS, PLEASE ASK YOUR PROFESSOR TO REQUEST THE FILM THROUGH THIS KANOPY LINK. CLICK ON MORE BEFORE USING:
CURRENT PROBLEM REPORTED WITH USING FIREFOX. CHROME AND OPERA WORKING NORMALLY.
AVOID USING MAC w/FIREFOX FOR ALL STREAMING VIDEOS (NEEDS SEPARATE FLASH DOWNLOAD).
DO NOT USE INTERNET EXPLORER
See also our new streaming video database, Academic Video Online, located on the A tab and Videos & Multimedia tab.
REMOTE USERS - NEW PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS: You may be prompted to authenticate via LOG IN TO FORDHAM button on left side of screen; on next screen you will be prompted to click LOG IN TO FORDHAM button again; click SKIP when prompted to create an account.
TIB AV-Portal This link opens in a new window
Operated by The Leibniz Information Center for Science and Technology (TIB), an open access platform on which most scientific videos such as conference recordings, simulations, animations, lectures and visualized research data can be published and viewed free of charge.
Underline Digital Video Library This link opens in a new window

Additional Video Resources:

NEJM: Double Takes
The New England Journal of Medicine has a channel that provides deep looks into medically-significant topics and their scientific, social, and clinical aspects.
NEJM: Videos in Clinical Medicine
From the New England Journal of Medicine, video instruction on select clinical medicine practices.

Medical Podcasts

JAMA Clinical Reviews
Author interviews that explore the latest clinical reviews.
Listen to The Lancet
Professionals discuss the latest topics on medicine and research.
Nature Medicine Podcast
The Nature Medicine Podcast reports on cutting-edge news in biomedical research from around the globe.
NEJM This Week — Audio Summaries
Summaries of the latest in medical research, reviews, and perspectives from the NEJM
New England Journal of Medicine Interviews
Interviews with prominent members of the medical field on current health topics.

Image Resources

Search through our image databases to find historical collections and web archives of scientific study, experimentation, and scientists' biographical information.

CDC: Public Health Image Library
Hosted by the CDC, for the historic documentation of public health. These images are not meant to represent the context of the current time period.
NEJM: Images in Clinical Medicine
From the New England Journal of Medicine, provides images of diseases and conditions in clinical medicine. Updated weekly.
NEJM: Illustrated Glossary
From the New England Journal of Medicine, an illustrated glossary of medical conditions and terms.

News Resources and Magazines

Selected Science News Resources:

New York Times (Fordham & The New York Times) This link opens in a new window
Information for free online access to the New York Times. Administered and supported by the Division of Student Affairs and the Parents Fund. Scroll down and click on "New Subscribers" to create a personal account.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and Hoover's Company Reports. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers. FOR BEST RESULTS: CREATE ACCOUNT (ONLY FROM ON CAMPUS) & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
See link below for downloading information....
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

Selected Popular Science Magazines:

American Scientist
New Scientist
Popular Mechanics
Scientific American
The Magazine Rack: Science and Scientific Magazines
A collection of online magazines published in science and technology fields.
The Scientist
Must make a free account for full access.

Medicine & Health: Science Media and News

Using Science Media and News

Video Resources

Medical Podcasts

Image Resources

Other Interactive Content

News Resources and Magazines

Reference & Instruction Department