Research Guides @ Fordham: Environmental Studies: Library Databases and Journals

Environmental Studies Databases

Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and authoritative content on agriculture and related fields that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
American Men and Women of Science This link opens in a new window
Biographical directory of today's leaders in physical, biological, and related sciences including medicine.
Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
Open access resource issued by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy, 2009 This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library. Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates.
Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Some full text.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as full text for nearly 5,000.

Additional Databases of Note

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, journals, images and collections from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries creating a global “biodiversity commons” of significant biodiversity materials. Includes the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations, a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Provides access to a wide range of biology topics, including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

Selected Electronic Journals

Below is a list of selected electronic journals in Environmental Studies. For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, consult the E-Journals portal on our Homepage; alternatively, try searching our Catalog in this fashion:

Selected Open Access Resources

DeGruyter Open This link opens in a new window
Leading publisher of open access scientific content with nearly 400 scholarly journals across all major disciplines.
Hindawi Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over one hundred peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science.
Oxford Open Journals This link opens in a new window
Open Access journals from Oxford University Press.
SpringerOpen Journals This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of free peer-reviewed journals from Springer, across all areas of science.
Taylor & Francis Open Access This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication.

Environmental Studies: Library Databases and Journals

The Joy of sustainable transportation

Environmental Studies Databases

Additional Databases of Note

Selected Electronic Journals

Selected Open Access Resources

Reference & Instruction Department