Research Guides @ Fordham: Careers & Employment: Home

Career Development Databases

Books24x7 - Skillsoft
Full text of books on technology, business, finance and management. Majority of titles are not downloadable due to publisher restrictions. Includes IT and Desktop videos, and thousands of audio books.100 concurrent users at one time. No downloading available. Internet Explorer Not Supported.
LinkedIn Learning
Access provided by Human Resources. Details available here.
LinkedIn Learning is an all-in-one solution for enhancing all types of education. From soft skills to software, there's a course to add value to your personal and professional aspirations.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Features profiles of hundreds of occupations describing what they do, what the work environment is like, educational requirements, average salary ect.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep (Gale)

Free online courses and tools to prep for an exam, find a school or scholarship, explore career options, brush up on foundational skills, prepare for US citizenship. NOTE: An account is required to access most resources and save your progress in the prep material. Use your Fordham email to create an account.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)

Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

The Best Thing That Could Ever Happen to You : How a Career Reversal Can Reinvigorate Your Life by Sander A. Flaum; Mechele Flaum; John Glenn (Foreword by)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HF5382.5.U5 F556

Downsized? Laid-off? Can't find a job? Frustrated and looking for a new career? The Best Thing That Could Ever Happen to You: How A Career Reversal Can Reinvigorate Your Life was written to get you moving and into the job you've always wanted.

Librarian's Pick!

This is hands down the most realistic, down to earth, practical, and relatable young adult's guide to the do's and don'ts of getting a job.

Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? by Ellen Gordon Reeves
Call Number: (LC) Stacks HF5382.7 .R442 2019

New York : Workman Pub, 2019.

Box Girl is a great read for 20 somethings - particularly recent grads.

Box Girl by Lilibet Snellings
Call Number: LC Stacks HD6073.M772 U569 2014

Berkeley, CA : Soft Skull Press

The Essential Job Interview Handbook by Baur, Jean
Call Number: ebook

Credo Reference, The Career Press, Incorporated, 2014.
Women and Careers in Management : Developing Women Leaders in Corporate America [E-book] by Alan Belasen
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Praeger, [2012]
The Arc of the Academic Research Career by Beryl Lieff Benderly (Editor); Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy; Policy and Global Affairs; National Academy of Sciences; National Academy of Engineering; Institute of Medicine
Call Number: ebook

Washington, D.C. : National Academies Press, [2014].

A summary of a workshop convened by The Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy in September 2013 to examine major points of strain in academic research careers from the point of view of both the faculty members and the institutions.

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
The Gerald M. Quinn Library
Room 201

mmagilligan@fordham.edu

212-636-7548

Subjects: Business, Economics, Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Library & Information Science, Political Science & Government, Science & Technology (General), Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
Quinn Library
nalongi@fordham.edu

212-636-6054

Subjects: Business, Humanitarian Studies, Library & Information Science, Religion & Theology