Communication & Media Studies: Advertising & Public Relations

Looking for the best?
Check out the CLIO Awards! Clio's mission is to "celebrate bold work that propels the advertising industry forward, inspire a competitive marketplace or ideas, and foster meaningful connections with the creative community."

A 2019 CLIO Award Winner

The Ad*Access Project, via Duke University, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Fordham does not subscribe. You may register for free to get very limited access to Ad Age articles and content.

With nearly half a million monthly users, AdForum.com is a leading information provider focused on the global advertising industry. Click on the "Creative Library" tab to search for specific brands, companies, agencies, etc.(limited access, subscription required for some areas of the website)

The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. Images are not free.

Fordham has access to Adweek articles via a number of databases.

This is the Adweek website. (Limited access, subscription required for some areas of the website.) Adweek publishes a series of annual directories: the Adweek Agency Directory, the Brandweek Directory, the Mediaweek Marketer’s Guide to Media. Fordham does not subscribe to them, but they are very useful, and Advertising majors should be aware of them.
* Fordham does not provide password access to the website.

The CLIO Award is the world’s most recognized international award competition for advertising, design, interactive and communications. The CLIO Awards honor work in a broad range of media types. In addition to honoring specific work, CLIO bestows an annual Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of outstanding and ongoing contribution by an individual who leads the industry forward, as well as Network, Agency, Production Company and Advertiser of the Year awards.

The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA), from Duke University, presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project, from Duke University, presents images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s.

Public relations news and industry information. Company rankings and directory of top firms. Fordham does not subscribe. Some content is limited to subscribers only.

ROAD, the Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions, is a Duke University database providing access to over 50,000 descriptions of images of outdoor advertising dating between the 1920s through the 1990s.