Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ethics, Law & Policy Resources
The Public Domain, 8th ed (ebook) 3rd ed (print) by
Call Number: (RH) Ref KF3022.Z9 F57 2006 (2017 ebook)
Berkeley, CA : Nolo, 2006 (2017 ebook)
This book explains how to recognize when a work is in the public domain. Chapters cover:* writings* music* art* architecture* maps* choreography* photography* film and video* computer software and databases. The book also lists hundreds of resources, such as websites, libraries and archives, useful for locating public domain works.
The Handbook of Global Communication and Media Ethics by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks P94 .H354 2011, 2 vols.
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture by
Call Number: (RH) Ref P95.82.U6 C62 2009
Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2009.
Articles provide both historical and contemporary insight.
Mass Media and the Constitution by
Call Number: (LC, Stacks) (RH, Ref) P92.U5 H59 1989
New York : Garland Pub., 1989.
Summaries of US Supreme court decisions that bear upon the press, the First Amendment, and the Constitution.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by
Call Number: (RH) Ref + JA85.E65 2008, 2 vols.
Los Angeles: Sage, 2008
U.S. focus, lengthy articles, broad scope, extensive index & cross references.
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America by
Call Number: (RH) Ref E183 .E63 2011, 2 vols.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2011
Chronologically organized with an alphabetical index. Contains brief articles, with bibliographies and limited photos.
Political Commentators in the United States in the 20th Century by
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks/Ref P95.82.U6 N57 1997
Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1997.
A biographical survey and analysis of the development of the profession and the influence of the primary personalities.
Mass Media Law, 17th ed. by
Call Number: (RH) P92.U5 P42 2011
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2011.
Current and comprehensive, this textbook addresses the primary aspects of U.S. media law.
Digital Media Resources
Advancing Digital Humanities : Research, Methods, Theories by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks AZ105 .A35 2014
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire : Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
Contributions cover digital methods, critical curation, and research futures, with theoretical and practical chapters framed around key areas of activity, including modelling collections, data-driven analysis, and thinking through building.
Encyclopedia of New Media : An Essential Reference Guide to Communication and Technology by
Call Number: (RH,LC) Ref QA76.575.E5368 2002.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003.
Includes articles on cyberculture, hacking, law, networks, networking, open-source, social issues, technological innovation, and more.
From Talking Drums to the Internet by
Call Number: (RH,LC) Stacks/Ref 96.T42 G374 1997.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
Articles range from hieroglyphics, to walkie-talkies, to v-chips. Includes profiles of inventors, and an extensive bibliography.
Media Education for a Digital Generation by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks P96.M4 M38 2016
New York ; London : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016.
Understanding Media in the Digital Age by
Call Number: (RH,LC) Stacks QA76.76.I59 D46 2010.
New York: Allyn & Bacon, 2010.
A broad overview of the field of communications with a focus on issues unique to digital and global trends.
We Are Data : Algorithms and the making of our digital selves by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HM851 .C4446 2017
New York : New York University Press, 
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)