Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism: Search Tips & Tricks

Overview of resources available at Fordham University Libraries and beyond for journalism and public media.

Databases & Boolean Searching

It is difficult to know how underlying code, algorithms, and/or overall organization impact the ability to search a database or electronic resource. The following resources offer options to help understand databases and how to construct a search:

  • If available, explore any of the tutorials or search tips provided by at database

Google Tips & Tricks

General Google Searches 

  • Google's search capabilities can be used to search the contents of a website. Try the following steps in Chrome:
    • Go to the address bar and type site search: [the url of the website you want to search] press the space bar then type your search terms and press Enter.
    • Here is a sample search of the Fordham website for references to "public media":

decorative

Specific Searches

  • Google Scholar is preferred when searching for experts or academic  research. It enables users to click on author links, see articles that cited an article, related articles, alternate versions, and full text access links (if available) on the right side.

  • Google Scholar can include full text links to library content if you set up library links. To add Fordham, New York Public Library, or other options, try the following:
    • Go to Google Scholar search page.
    • Click on the menu button Menu button and then click Settings button Settings.
    • Select Library links from the panel on the left.
    • Next, search for Fordham University and add the two available options. You may add up to five libraries where you have access privileges.

New York Public Library Cards

Web Archives

Trying to access a webpage that is no longer online? Looking for historical versions of websites? Try the following web archives:

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)