Interlibrary Loan
Resource Sharing: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
The Rose Hill Office processes requests for all three campuses.
Hours are Monday - Friday, 9-5
Fordham ILL Borrowing:
The department obtains research items for our faculty and student body.
SEARCH FORDHAM’S HOLDINGS PRIOR TO SUBMITTING A REQUEST.
Articles: Requests for articles from both print and digital collections will be processed.
Book Chapters: Requests for book chapters cannot exceed 15% of a work. Submit a book request if more is needed.
Books: Do not request unless able to pick up a book at a designated campus.
E-Books: Can be requested, but are difficult to obtain.
Document Delivery: The Interlibrary Loan Department continues to provide articles and book chapters from Fordham’s digital collection in the event one has trouble downloading as well as from the print collection.
Submitting Requests: Include full citations along with corresponding ISSNs and ISBNs. Full and accurate information will speed the ILL process. Auto-populate ILLiad requests using embedded links within individual records in OneSearch Discovery, Databases, and WorldCat.
Password: If you forget your password, use the forgot password e-mail or contact Charlotte at [email protected]
In addition: Faculty and students are encouraged to make use of NYPL’s digital collections to complement your resources.
Links:
ILLiad (ILL software)
Fordham’s Library Catalog (search holdings (books/journals) prior to submitting ILLs)
Fordham’s Database Page (search holdings prior to submitting ILLs)
Fordham’s OneSearch Discovery (search holdings prior to submitting ILLs)
Contact:
Charlotte Labbé
Head of Resource Sharing: ILL & Doc Del
[email protected]
The Resource Sharing: ILL & DocDel service obtains/connects research material to Fordham’s current faculty, staff and student body. All requests are processed in a centralized location in the Resource Sharing office in Walsh Library at the Rose Hill campus.
Filled in a variety of ways, requests are most often obtained via library-to-library interactions. Library partnerships forged over time have paved the way for the timely delivery of research items. Most documents are delivered within a week, but receipt times can vary from 1 day to 1 month. Keep in mind that although it may exist and appear in various databases and bibliographies, not all resources are available for interlibrary loan.
Search
Search citations against the library’s holdings prior to submitting an ILL request to determine ownership and availability of research materials. Fordham University library holdings are organized in a searchable online catalog. Use this resource to search for book titles (print and digital), periodical titles (print, microform, and digital), movie titles (DVDs, VHS, and streaming), audio titles (CDs and cassettes), etc. Use the numerous thematic databases to search for individual articles within periodicals, conference proceedings, books, etc. OneSearch is available on the library homepage and is often a go-to service to begin one’s search. It provides a simultaneous search of numerous (but not all) databases and library catalog holdings at one time. Keep in mind that citations and possible documents are provided from many different vendors, therefore one will find many different looks. Some links to documents will be immediate while other links require extra clicking. It is the researcher’s responsibility to search as far as needed prior to submitting an ILLiad request. That said, the ILL office would assist with difficult or confusing interfaces.
Register/Create ILLiad Account
To begin the ILL process one must first register/create an account in the ILLiad software. This account remains active throughout the user’s affiliation with Fordham (employed, matriculated). To begin—click on First Time Users beneath the login fields. Be mindful to use the pull-down menus to identify status, department, and location.
- An undergraduate residing and taking classes in the Bronx might choose--Undergraduate—Undeclared--Rose Hill.
- An online-only graduate student might choose--Graduate—Religious Education—Virtual Campus. Virtual Campus is a designation for faculty and students who utilize the online-only programs and due to geographic limitations are unable to physically access one of Fordham’s three campuses (Rose Hill, Lincoln Center, and Westchester).
- A faculty member or student at the London Centre would choose ‘London Centre-Electronic Only’ location.
- Users who select Virtual Campus or London Centre as their delivery location receive digital support through the ILL department.
Contact Charlotte Labbé (Head of Interlibrary Loan) for clarity of ILL assistance. Online-only faculty and students may contact Kirsten Lee (Distance Learning Liaison 212-636-6060) for additional library assistance.
Research Assistance
All faculty and students should acquaint themselves with the numerous carefully thought-out Research Guides created by the Reference Librarians. Contact the reference staff for further research assistance.
Interlibrary Loan Staff:
- Charlotte Labbé--Head of Resource Sharing: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery ([email protected], 718-817-3510)
- John Dupi--Borrowing Assistant ([email protected], 718-817-3585)
- Thomas Giangreco—Government Documents/Lending Assistant ([email protected] , 718-817-3525)