Research Guides @ Fordham: Python: Next Steps: Tutorials, Online Learning, and Books

LinkedIn Learning @ Fordham

What is LinkedIn Learning?

LinkedIn Learning is an online hub for learning professional and technical skills. Divided into three main categories, Business, Creative, and Technology, these courses cover a wide range of topics, including Business Development Strategy, User Experience and UX Design, and multiple programming languages. Courses range from just a few short videos to longer, more in-depth coverage of a topic. You can watch videos as you please, scroll through transcripts, and work on projects are your own pace. This is a great resource for learning new profession skills, as well as increasing your knowledge and comfort level with skills you may already have.

This resource can be accessed through the Library Databases page. You do not need a LinkedIn account to use this resource (but you can connect your account if you'd like).

Getting Started with LinkedIn Learning

Fordham LinkedIn Learning Resources
Links to activating and accessing LinkedIn Learning, LinkedIn Learning webinar schedules, and an FAQ page.

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Access provided by Human Resources. Details available here.
LinkedIn Learning is an all-in-one solution for enhancing all types of education. From soft skills to software, there's a course to add value to your personal and professional aspirations.

Fordham LinkedIn Learning Collection
A hub for LinkedIn Learning skills popular at Fordham, Fordham specific collections, and skill paths related to subjects at Fordham University.
LinkedIn Learning - Business Topics
All business topics in LinkedIn Learning.
LinkedIn Learning - Creative Topics
All creative topics in LinkedIn Learning.
LinkedIn Learning - Technology Topics
All technology topics in LinkedIn Learning.

Python Tutorials for Data Science

Real Python - Data Science Tutorials
A collection of tutorials from Real Python that cover a wide variety of topics related to data science.
Python and Machine Learning - W3 Schools
A beginner level introduction to machine learning tools available in Python.

Python for STEM

Python for Biologists
An introductory course to Python for those interested in biology. There is a paid course, but the introductory chapters are free to browse and use.
Biopython
A set of free tools for biologists to use when coding with Python.
NumPy Introduction - W3 Schools
An introduction to the NumPy python library. This guide will take you through using the library for various linear algebra, fourier transform, and matrix applications.
Introduction to Python for Science
An introductory course from the New York University Physics department covering essential Python functions for physics and general science applications.
Python in Chemistry
An open-source series of resources and tutorials essential for using Python in chemistry, including Jupyter notebooks and how to apply chemistry concepts.
Python for Number Theory
This is a series of Jupyter Notebooks that contains applications for number theory and cryptography. They're great for beginning programers and those who are just learning about number theory.

Python for the Humanities

Library Carpentry - Python Intro for Libraries
An introduction to Python for beginners who are interested in applying the tool to library applications.
Python Programming for the Humanities
A free resource that goes in depth, covering how Python can help with humanities-oriented projects, including elementary data analysis and organization, text processing, and file archiving.

Books on Python

Beginning Python: From Novice to Professional by Magnus Hetland
Online Resource
Berkeley, CA : Apress : 2017
Guide to Programming for the Digital Humanities by Brian Kokensparger
Online Resource
Cham, Switzerland : Springer, 2018
Introduction to Python for Engineers and Scientists: Open Source Solutions for Numerical Computation by Sandeep Nagar
Online Resource
Berkeley, CA : Apress : 2018
Learn to Program with Python 3 by Irv Kalb
Online Resource
Berkeley, CA : Apress : 2018
Python Data Analytics: Using Pandas, matplotlib, and the Python Programming Language by Fabio Nelli
Online Resource
Berkeley, CA : Apress : 2015

Finding Python Packages and Libraries

Python Package Index (PyPI)
PyPI allows you to find and install software created and shared by the Python development community.

Practical Python

Python File Handling - W3 Schools
A simple introduction to file handling functions with Python.
Python and MySQL - W3 Schools
An introduction on how to use Python with the MySQL database application.
Python and MongoDB - W3 Schools
An introduction on how to use Python with the MongoDB database application.

Python: Next Steps: Tutorials, Online Learning, and Books