Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - Culture
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
EBSCOhost Databases List
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch.
For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Books & E-books
At the Interface of Culture and Medicine by
Call Number: GN296.A8 2011 (RH)
Edmonton, Alta.: University of Alberta Press, 2011.
Cultural Issues in End-of-Life Decision Making by
Call Number: HQ1073.5.U6 C85 2000 (RH LC WC)
Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2000.
Death, Dying and Bereavement: A Hong Kong Chinese Experience by
Call Number: HQ1073.5.H6 D43 2005 (LC )
Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2005.
Deconstructing Death: Changing Cultures of Death, Dying, Bereavement and Care in the Nordic Countries by
Call Number: GT3257.D43 2013 (RH)
Odense: University Press of Southern Denmark, 2013.
Facing Death: Where Culture, Religion, and Medicine Meet by
Call Number: R726.8.F33 1996 (RH LC)
New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1996.
The Jewish Way in Death and Mourning by
Call Number: BM712.L3 2000 (RH)
Middle Village, NY: Jonathan David, 2000.
Campus Library Designations
RH = Walsh Library at Rose Hill, Bronx
LC = Quinn Library at Lincoln Center
WC = Westchester Campus Library (Fordham Westchester Library)
Web Content: Cultural End-of-Life Attitudes
China's Palliative Care System Gives Little Comfort to the Dying
From Chinese publication Sixth Tone, a group that comprises writers, editors, and researchers from within China and abroad; part of Shanghai Media Group
Cultural and Religious Aspects of Palliative Care
By Dr. Steven M. Steinberg, Department of Surgery, Division of Critical Care, The Ohio State University
Cultural Relevance in End-of-Life Care
By Coolen, P.R. DNP, RN; reviewed by L. Boynton MD, et al.; literature review, interviews on site Ethnomed
End of Life Care: The Importance of Culture and Ethnicity
By Katherine Clark. Article reprinted from the Australian Family Physician, Vol. 39, No. 4, 2010.
End-of-Life Care: Indian Perspective
From PubMed Central, U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, January 2013. Also in Indian Journal of Psychiatry, vol. 55 (Suppl. 2), S293-S298.
End-of-Life Considerations in the ICU in Japan: Ethical and Legal Perspectives
From PubMed Central. Also in Journal of Intensive Care, vol. 2, issue 1, 2014.
Hospice Utilization and End-of-Life Care Decision Making of African Americans
From the American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, vol. 27, issue 8, 2010.
Latino Families and Hospice
By Barbara Kreling, PhD, MPH from the American Hospice Foundation
Latino Outreach Guide (2006-2007)
From the National Hospice & Palliative Care Organization. NHPCO's Caring Connections are made possible through a grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 21 pp.
Middle East Experience in Palliative Care
From the American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine by Zeinah, G. et al., April 2012. Also see References list.
Muslim Attitudes Towards End-of-Life Decisions
From the Journal of the Islamic Medical Association of North America (JIMA) by Garmal Badawi, PhD on PubMed Central, December 2011.
Palliative Cancer Care in Middle Eastern Countries: Accomplishments and Challenges
By M. Silbermann, et al. in the Annals of Oncology, Vol. 23 (Supplement 3), 2012. Free online article.
Palliative Care in India
By Liliana De Lima, MHA; IAHPC Executive Director, March 2009
Palliative Care for Latino Patients and Their Families: "Whenever We Prayed, She Wept"
By Alexander K. Smith, MD, MS, MPH, et al. From the PMC site, US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health; also in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA), Vol. 301, No. 10, pp. 1047-E1.
To Hope: Hospice Care in Line With Jewish tradition
From the publication The New York Jewish Week by Rabbi Charles Rudansky, January 14, 2014.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)