Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off Campus via the Proxy Server
You need a computer with an Internet connection and a web browser.
- Navigate to https://www.fordham.edu/library.
- Select the Databases link from the Resources menu.
- Select a database and follow logon procedure.
- Your user name is your Fordham AccessIT ID user name.
- Your password is your Fordham AccessIT ID password.
OneSearch is a search platform that aggregates most of Fordham Library's electronic and print resources, so that you can search them simultaneously from one central location. OneSearch can streamline your research process, as it accomplishes both catalog and database searching in a single session using a single search interface, netting you both books and periodical literature.
Research Databases in Law & Legal Practice
Code of Federal Regulations
Full text of the United States Code of Federal Regulations
Access to New York consolidated and unconsolidated laws, court acts and rules
HeinOnline Law Library
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more. Special collections include: John F. Kennedy assassination, history of capital punishment, slavery in America and the world, Gun regulation and legislation, women and the law. NOTE: Visit the "Search Tips" page for help with navigating this resource!
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 to 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978
Millions of pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832-1978. An essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history and the U.S. judicial system.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Now includes Hoover's Company Reports. Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases including Supreme Court decisions back to 1790. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. FOR BEST RESULTS: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS. Click on the Business box for Company Dossier information.
Maintained by the Library of Congress, the site contains a wealth of legislative information, and links to all branches of the federal government. Additionally, Thomas provides text of bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, and other sources.
Additional Databases of Interest
Oxford Reference Premium
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press.
SAGE Research Methods Online
New platform with a multimedia research experience! Explore research methods and concepts to help design research projects. Can be used across many disciplines. Use Chrome or Firefox for Best Results.
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Finding Specific Electronic Journals
Google Scholar indexes the full text of a wide array of scholarly literature across many disciplines. Use Advanced Search for more refined results.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)