Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3806: U.S. Immigration and Ethnicity (Prof. Soyer): Finding Books & Articles

Selection of library resources for HIST 3806: U.S. Immigration and Ethnicity, Fall 2020.

Introduction

This course guide provides a selection of resources in support of HIST 3806: U.S. Immigration and Ethnicity taught by Prof. Soyer during Spring 2021.

 

caution   Access to print books and library buildings is subject to change at any time due to COVID-19. Please be sure to check the advisories on the library home page for the latest information.

The Library Catalog & OneSearch Video Tutorials

Check out the following videos to learn how to search the library catalog and place a hold or use OneSearch to find books available at Fordham University Libraries.

 Looking for ebooks only? Select the "Online Resources" option under the library dropdown limiter before your press Search in the catalog.

Shows Online Resources Limiter from Catalog Search Page

Book Searching Tips

StarsThe library catalog is the most direct way to search for books that Fordham owns.

  • When you find a book that looks interesting, click on the catalog record to see associated Library of Congress Subject Headings. Clicking on the subject heading links may help you find similar books.

Shows Library of Congress Subject Headings in a Catalog Record

OneSearch can be used to find books Fordham owns with the help of limiters on the left panel inside the database.

  • Limit to “Catalog Only” and select Source Type as “Books”or “eBooks.”
  • Look for the "Retrieve Catalog Item" link to access content found in OneSearch.

Electronic Books

  • If you are using ebooks, please keep in mind that many ebooks are limited to 1 user at a time.

Concurrent user limited to 1 person

Background Information

Consulting reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks) can help you understand a topic and generate keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

Image credit: "Ellis Island, New York" postcard via New York Public Library Digital Collections

Understanding Different Types of Sources

Unsure about how to identify different types of sources? Consult these resources for help:

Stars You can always chat live with a librarian to get research help as well.

Finding Scholarly Articles with Library Databases

Library databases aggregate content from journals, magazines, and newspapers. For a wider search across many publications on a topic, trying using a library database to search for articles.

Additional Library Services & Resources

  • Need an electronic scan of a book chapter or article from the library's print collection? Try our Document Delivery Service to receive scans via email.
  • Need items for your research that Fordham does not own? Submit a request to InterLibrary Loan.

Image credit: U.S. Customs and Immigration buildings at the U.S. - Mexico border via San Diego History Center/Online Archive of California.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)