Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Resources (.org)
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Moving Image (Internet) Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
State of the New Media : An Annual Report on American Journalism
Created by the Pew Research Center’s Project for Excellence in Journalism, a nonpartisan and nonpolitical institute that studies the information revolution, this report provides an annual overview of the news media industry. Reports available for 2004-2014.
International Communication Association (ICA)
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
American Advertising Federation
Professional organization for advertisers and agencies.
The Ad Council produces, distributes and promotes public service campaigns on behalf of non-profit organizations and government agencies in issue areas such as improving the quality of life for children, preventive health, education, community well being and strengthening families.
American Communications Association
A professional association for communications educators & researchers.
American Press Institute
Center devoted to training and professional development for the news industry and journalism educators.
Alliance for Women in Media
A professional association created to promote women in the electronic media professions and allied fields.
Association for Business Communication
An international organization committed to fostering excellence in business communication scholarship, research, education, and practice
Association for Women in Communications
Disciplines represented within the association include: print and broadcast journalism, television and radio production, film, advertising, public relations, marketing, graphic design, multi-media design, and photography.
Non-profit private organization that promotes communication tools, applications and policies in the public interest.
British Universities Film & Video Council
Promotes the production, study, and use of moving image, sound, and related media in higher education and research
Center for Global Communications (GLOCOM)
A Japanese research institute that supports the study of information in society, and the collection/dissemination of information through computer networks.
Management consulting firm that conducts the Gallup Poll, the world's leading source of public opinion.
National Association of Black Journalists
Promotes diversity in newsrooms and expanded job opportunities for African-American journalists and journalism students.
Online journalism resources sponsored by Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc.
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
A nonprofit organization providing free legal help to reporters and news organizations.
Internet Resources (.edu)
The American Archive of Public Broadcasting.(AAPB)
The AAPB is a collaboration of The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston to preserve the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years:
Center for the Study of Women in Television & Film
Producing extensive and timely research studies to support women’s on-screen representation and behind-the-scenes employment in the television and film industries based at San Diego State University.
Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy
Hosted by Harvard University, the Center is dedicated to the intersection of press, politics and public policy in theory and practice. Includes reports, case studies, awards, news.
Knight Digital Media Center @ USC Annenberg
The KDMC was designed to help journalists, news organizations, and community groups succeed in the in the digital age. It includes resources and training in a variety of formats including self-direted, web-based learning modules, instructor-led virtual classes and workshops, and networking tools. This is an archive of that website.
UCLA Film and Television Archive
A catalog of the largest university-based moving-image collection in the world, containing over 220,000 films and television programs. Note, only a fraction of the collection is available for digital streaming.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
A project of Vanderbilt University, this is the world's most extensive archive of television news. It contains over 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts & over 9,000 hours of special news-related programming. (Limited access)
Internet Resources (.com)
One of the top trade publications for marketing, advertising, and media. Includes news, trends, topics, events, statistics, rankings, analysis, and more. Full text available in many databases (search catalog for holdings).
Username/password access no longer available.
Individuals can register on the site and have access to 7 free articles each month.
Box office sales for films, t.v. ratings, theater, music, and web rankings. Also news, reviews, and a wide variety of other industry information. (Limited free website access. Fordham does not subscribe to the website).
The Hollywood Reporter
Entertainment industry news, reviews, and charts. Includes links to “in production” and “pre-production” information (limited access, subscription required for some areas of the website).
For additional access, search the periodical title name in the library catalog.
American Film Institute
A national non-profit, educational, and cultural organization which preserves, recognizes, and celebrates excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. Unique access to the AFI Film Catalog, topical film lists, events calendar, educational tools, streaming media, and podcasts.
O'Dwyer's Public Relations Industry Website
Public relations news and industry information. Company rankings and directory of top firms.
Internet Resources (.gov)
Federal Communications Commission
The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories.
National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
NTIA is the Executive Branch agency that is principally responsible for advising the President on telecommunications and information policy issues.
National Broadband Plan
NTIA is the Executive Branch agency that is principally responsible for advising the President on telecommunications and information policy issues. NTIA’s programs and policymaking focus largely on expanding broadband Internet access and adoption in America, expanding the use of spectrum by all users, and ensuring that the Internet remains an engine for continued innovation and economic growth.
The National Security Agency
The National Security Agency/Central Security Service (NSA/CSS) leads the U.S. Government in cryptology that encompasses both Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) and Information Assurance (IA) products and services, and enables Computer Network Operations (CNO) in order to gain a decision advantage for the Nation and our allies under all circumstances.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)