Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film & Television Databases & Indexes
Film Literature Index
Call Number: (RH) REF. Z5784.M9 F54
FLI indexes over 300 international film periodicals. The print edition covers film criticism from 1974 to 2004; it is continued by the database Film & Television Literature Index (above).
American Film Institute Catalog
Covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976-2011. Updated twice a year. This version of the AFI catalog includes bibliographic citations for each film listed. Additional access in print (Ref PN1998 .A57)or via the free web.
Film Index International
A major information resource for international entertainment films and personalities produced by the British Film Institute. Indexes films from over 170 countries from 1900-present.
Internet Movie Database
Information related to films, television programs, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media.
Reviews in Newspapers & Magazines
US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier)
Most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal and a large collection of local and regional newspapers on the ProQuest platform. INCLUDES FORMER BLACK NEWSPAPERS.
This is a list of all of the newspaper databases available in the Fordham Libraries. Select a specific newspaper or newspaper collection and search for movie reviews.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
Index and abstracts to over 400 journals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles.
Pop Culture (Gale OneFile)
Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Communications Research Databases
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Arts & Humanities Database
On ProQuest's platform. Full text of almost 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Center on Media and Child Health (ACCESS ENDS BY 6/30/2021)
Database of emerging research from academic journals in a variety of disciplines, including medicine, education, sociology, psychology, gender studies, communication, and more that reveals the evidence behind the ways media, youth, and health intersect. Note: The Center on Media and Child Health is evolving into the Digital Wellness Lab by late summer 2021.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals and selected indexing of nearly 200 more, with a combined coverage of over 820 titles. Full text is available for over 500 journals. Coverage dates range from 1915 - present. CMMC contains a discipline specific thesaurus to facilitate more sophisticated searching.
Humanities International Index
Comprehensive database covering over 2000 journals, books and other important reference sources.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS) - ENDS 6/30/22
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1:n. 1. Access to current subscribed content of participating titles included. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Bibliographies in 13 subjects: African Studies, Art History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Renaissance & Reformation, and Social Work. Citations are linked to full text when available.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account. This database applies non-standard use of Boolean operators. Consult a Fordham Librarian for search support.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Hundreds of thousands of online images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art. Remote Users: Must Make Personal Account on Campus before trying remote access. After signing in with your AccessIT ID, sign in again with personal account username and password. Must disable your browser’s pop-up blocker.
NEW Personal Collections feature.CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION
Offline Image Viewer (OIV) no longer available
Moving Image (Internet) Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Advertising Trade & Industry
With nearly half a million monthly users, AdForum.com is a leading information provider focused on the global advertising industry. Some information is free, some may require a subscription.
Profiles of over 15,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies and 21,000 global advertisers.
Selected Electronic Journals
The library may own one journal in multiple formats (electronic, print, and microform). For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, please consult the catalog.
Feel free to consult this video for a refresher on how to search for journals in the library catalog.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)