Research Guides @ Fordham: Middle East Studies: Getting Started

New Titles

Digital Authoritarianism in the Middle East: Deception, Disinformation and Social Media by Marc Owen Jones (Contribution by)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks JF1525.P8 J664 2022
New York: Oxford University Press, 2022.
Drylands Facing Change : Interventions, Investments and Identities by Angela Kronenburg García (Editor); Tobias Haller (Editor); Han Van Dijk (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
New York, NY : Routledge, 2023.
Figures That Speak: The Vocabulary of Turkish Nationalism by Matthew deTar
Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 2022.
The Funambulists : Women Poets of the Arab Diaspora by Lisa Marchi
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PN1091.M37 2022 (and ebook)
Syracuse, New York : Syracuse University Press, 2022.
No Truth Without Beauty : God, the Qur'an, and Women's Rights by Leena El-Ali; Khaled Abou El Fadl (Foreword by)
Call Number: ebook
Cham : Springer International Publishing, 2022; Palgrave Macmillan, 2022.
The Problem of Democracy: America, the Middle East, and the Rise and Fall of an Idea by Shadi Hamid
Call Number: (RH) Stacks JC421 .H26 2022
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2022]
Sex in the Middle East and North Africa by L. L. Wynn (Editor); Angel M. Foster (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HQ18.M628 S49 2022
Nashville, Tennessee : Vanderbilt University Press, [2022].
Understanding the New Proxy Wars: Battlegrounds and Strategies Reshaping the Greater Middle East by Peter Bergen (Editor); Candace Rondeaux (Editor); Daniel Rothenberg (Editor); David Sterman (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks JZ6385 .U53 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom : Oxford University Press, 2022.
We'll Play till We Die : Journeys Across a Decade of Revolutionary Music in the Muslim World by Mark LeVine
Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2022].

Introduction

Welcome to the research guide for MIDDLE EAST STUDIES

This research guide includes selected sources which pertain to the history, culture, geography, and politics of the diverse groups of people who reside (or who have historically resided) in the Middle East.

Resources have been selected which pertain to the primary Middle East Countries as grouped by the CIA World Factbook, as well as countries from other regions that are frequently grouped with the Middle East countries in other information sources. A profile for each country and a map of the region from the CIA World Factbook is provided for reference. For profiles from other sources, click on the Political Surveys tab.

Primary Middle East Countries

Armenia - Azerbaijan - Bahrain - Gaza Strip - Georgia - Iran - Iraq - Israel - Jordan - Kuwait - Lebanon - Oman - Palestine - Qatar - Saudi Arabia - Syria - Turkey - United Arab Emirates - West Bank - Yemen

Related Countries (by Region)

African Countries : Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Libya, Somalia
Eurasian Countries : Cyprus
South Asian Countries : Afghanistan, Pakistan
Central Asian Countries : Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Alternate Regional Grouping of Countries:

Gulf : Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates
Levant : Jordan, Israel, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria
North Africa : Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia
Western Asia : Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Iraq, Pakistan

MENA refers to the Middle East and North Africa

MENAT refers to the Middle East, North Africa, and Turkey

MENAP refers to the Middle East, North Africa, Afghanistan, and Pakistan

Map of the Middle East

Source: CIA (2020). Political Middle East. In The World Factbook, World and Regional Maps.

Research Guides and Manuals

Researching the Middle East : Cultural, Conceptual, Theoretical and Practical Issues by Ilan Pappé (Editor); Monica Ronchi (Editor); Lorraine Charles (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, [2021]
Political Science Research in the Middle East and North Africa : Methodological and Ethical Challenges by Janine A. Clark (Editor); Francesco Cavatorta (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks JA88.M628 P65 2018
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, Inc., [2018]

Romanization Tables from the Library of Congress

ALA-LC Romanization Tables
The ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts, is approved by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association.

Related Fordham Library Research Guides

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (Arabic)

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, & Spanish) This link opens in a new window
Oxford's bilingual foreign language dictionaries. Includes usage examples, grammar information, and pronunciation guidance. Click into the database link above, then select Arabic.

Islamic Studies

Use the Advanced Search option to limit your search to Islamic Studies.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This resource combines the best features of annotated bibliography with discipline-specific encyclopedic articles. It is the perfect entry into the seminal literature on your chosen topic.
- The database includes multiple subjects, so use the Advanced Search option to limit your search to Islamic Studies. Citations are linked to full text when available.

Liaison

Jane Suda

she/her

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 128

jsuda@fordham.edu

718-817-3587

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Liaison

David Vassar

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
Quinn Library
Room 201
Vassar@fordham.edu

212-636-6052

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Fordham Middle East Studies Department

The Fordham Middle East Studies Department
The Fordham program includes the geographic areas of the Middle East and North Africa from ancient to modern times, from Morocco in the west to Afghanistan in the east, as well as from Turkey in the north to Somalia in the south. We offer courses in history, anthropology, political science, art history, economics, religion, philosophy, and literature. All of these disciplinary areas are necessary to make the Middle East and North Africa come alive with meaning.

Middle East Studies: Getting Started

New Titles

Introduction

Map of the Middle East

Research Guides and Manuals

Romanization Tables from the Library of Congress

Related Fordham Library Research Guides

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (Arabic)

Islamic Studies

Liaison

Liaison

Fordham Middle East Studies Department

Reference & Instruction Department