Research Guides @ Fordham: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Queer Theory

What Is Queer Theory?

Use the Mind Map of Queer Theory from Credo Reference to explore history, background, key concepts, and key theorists.

Selected Queer Theory Books

The History of Sexuality by Michel Foucault
Vintage Books, 1980.
Call number HQ12 .F681
Fordham has many editions in print - please check the catalog for call numbers & locations.
Gender Trouble : Feminism and the Subversion of Identity by Judith P. Butler
Routledge, 1990.
Fordham has many editions in print - please check the catalog for call numbers & locations.
*E-book link above is for the 2nd edition.
Epistemology of the Closet by Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick
University of California Press, 1990.
Call number [RH Stacks & LC QuinnX Stacks] PS374.H63 S42 1990
*E-book link above is for 2008 edition.
Deviations : A Gayle Rubin Reader [electronic resource] by Gayle S. Rubin
Duke University Press, 2011.
Cruising Utopia : The Then and There of Queer Futurity by José Esteban Muñoz
New York University Press, 2009.
Call number [RH Stacks] HQ76.25 .M86 2009
Queer Phenomenology : Orientations, Objects, Others by Sara Ahmed
Duke University Press, 2006.
Call number [Stacks in all campus libraries] HQ76.25 .A38 2006

Queer Theory Research Tips

Tips For Finding Books

Use the video tutorials on the Finding Books page for help searching the catalog for books.

Try searching the subject fields in the library catalog with the Library of Congress Subject Heading "Queer theory."

Try searching the author fields in the library catalog to locate titles by a specific theorist. For books about a specific scholar's work, try searching the author name in the subject field.

Tips For Finding Articles

Use the Searching Periodicals video to locate articles from a specific citation.

Use the Finding Articles page to browse journals or find articles on a topic through searching in a database.

Philosophy Resources

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles.

Arts & Humanities Databases

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 2000 journals, books and other important reference sources.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject index covering modern languages, literature, folklore and linguistics from the Modern Language Association (MLA).

Additional Database Options

See the list of Databases by Subject to research Queer theory in additional databases.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Queer Theory