Research Guides @ Fordham: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Archives & Digital Collections

Fordham Resources by Subscription

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary source publications relating to the history and study of the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBT communities from 1940 to present. Content includes newsletters, newspapers, conference minutes, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of documents, images, bibliographies and teaching aids.

NYPL Library Cards
Available to anyone 13 or older who lives, works, attends school, or pays property taxes in New York State. Apply for a card to access subscription-based LGBTQ resources.
NYPL Gay and Lesbian Collections and HIV/AIDS Collections
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to lesbian and gay history and the AIDS/HIV epidemic.
NYPL Digital Collections
Search by keyword to locate digitized LGBTQ+ materials.
LGBT Magazine Archive
Offers digital access to the backfiles of many of the most influential, long-running periodicals devoted to LGBT interests, including The Advocate, Gay News, and The Pink Paper. Must have an NYPL card to access remotely.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Offers indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. Available onsite at NYPL branches; see access locations listed.

The LGBT Community Center National History Archive
Collects a wide range of items from as early as 1920 including photography, correspondence, news clippings, radio clips, video broadcasts, and personal journals. Selected collections have been digitized through Google Arts & Culture.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
Home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities based in Brooklyn.
The Leslie-Lohman Museum Online Collections Database
Digital collections from the only art museum in the world dedicated to exhibiting and preserving artwork about the LGBTQ experience.

Digital Public Library of America
Offers access to over 43 million images, texts, videos, and sounds hosted at libraries, museums, and archives across the United States. Search by keyword to locate LGBTQ+ content.
Digital Transgender Archive
A collaboration of more than fifty colleges, universities, organizations, public libraries, and private collections to increase the accessibility of transgender history.
GLBT Historical Society Museum & Archives -- Online Resources
Search digital collections, exhibitions, primary source sets, and research guides.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
The largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world housed at USC Libraries.
OutHistory.org
Includes timelines, biographies, essays, and primary sources on assorted topics.
South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
Browse items in the gender & sexuality collection documenting South Asian American history.
LGBTQIA+ Studies: A Resource Guide
Find LGBTQ+ items in the collections of the Library of Congress.

Digital Archive of the Gay Freedom Movement in Jamaica (GFM)
Digitized papers through the Digital Library of the Caribbean of the Gay Freedom Movement in Jamaica (GFM), the first movement in the English-speaking Caribbean to seek rights for LGBT people.
LGBTQ Histories from the British Library
Growing collection of digitized items charting the struggles for love, identity and legislative change faced by LGBTQ communities in the UK.

ACT UP Oral History Project
Collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power.
NYC Trans Oral History Project
A collective, community archive working to document transgender resistance and resilience in New York City through oral history.
LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory
Provides links to LGBTQ oral history collections primarily based in the U.S. and Canada.
Making Gay History : The Podcast
This podcast highlights Eric Marcus’s audio archive of rare interviews conducted for his award-winning oral history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement.
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN)
Provides in-depth interviews with more than 60 early leaders of LGBTQ+ religious movements.

In the Life
Digital archive of In the Life, television’s longest running LBGT news magazine in the UCLA Film & Television Archive.
LoveTapesCollective
L.O.V.E.(Lesbians Organized for Video Experience) documented lesbian & feminist protest activities from 1972-1977 in New York City.
Lilli M. Vincenz Collection -- Videos
Two digitized videos from the Library of Congress: "The Second Largest Minority" from the Reminder Day Picket held at Independence Hall in Philadelphia (1968) and "Gay and Proud" from the first Christopher Street Liberation Day Parade held in New York City (1970).

Christopher Street Liberation Day Committee Collection via UConn
Flyers from the first Christopher Street Liberation Day events digitized by the University of Connecticut.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
A collection of regional, small press, and activist magazines and newspapers compiled by librarians and scholars. Search by title or visit the “Series” tab to choose LGBT.
Pride Archives -- The Village Voice
Find historical articles converted to web pages with images of the original text from the print paper.
Outweek Internet Archive
Outweek was a gay and lesbian weekly news magazine published in New York City from 1989 to 1991.
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
Digital archive of zines founded in 2003.