Skip to Main Content

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (WGSS): Gender, Sexuality & Religion

Provides an overview of resources at Fordham University Libraries covering women, gender, and sexuality.

Selected Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Religion [electronic resource] 2nd ed. by Lindsay Jones, editor
Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion, 2nd ed. [electronic resource] by June Melby Benowitz
ABC-CLIO, 2017.
Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture Across History [2 Volumes] by Susan de-Gaia (Editor)
ABC-CLIO, 2019.
Religion and Sexualities [electronic resource] : Theories, Themes and Methodologies by Sarah-Jane Page; Heather Shipley
Routledge, 2020.
The Routledge Handbook of Islam and Gender [electronic resource] by Justine Howe (Editor)
Routledge, 2020.
Homosexuality and Religion [electronic resource] : An Encyclopedia by Jeffrey S. Siker
Greenwood Press, 2007.
Call number [RH Stacks] BL65.H64 H63 2007
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theology by Sheila Briggs, Mary McClintock Fulkerson (Editors)
Oxford University Press, 2012.
Call number [RH] BL458 .O94 2012

Search the library catalog for additional options.

Research Tips

Background Research

Use the handbooks, encyclopedias, and other resources listed on this page to find background information on your topic to help identify keywords and/or citations to locate materials for your research.

Tips For Finding Books

Use the video tutorials on the Finding Books page for help searching the catalog for books.

Tips For Finding Articles

Use the Searching Periodicals video to locate articles from a specific citation.

Use the Articles & Databases page to browse journals or find articles on a topic through searching in a database.

See the additional database resources this page.

Ask a Librarian for Help

Chat live with a librarian for research assistance.

Request a research consultation with one of the library liaisons assigned to WGSS.

Digital Collections & Archives

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Religious Archives Network
Provides a digital clearinghouse for archival collections on LGBTQ religious history.
Jewish Women's Archive
A national organization collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women.

Journals & Databases on Religion

Selected Journals

Selected Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Worldwide index of books, journal articles, reviews and essays in all fields of religion with many links to full text produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest database with a wide range of full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies.

Additional Guides & Databases

Try the following subject guides for more options:

Religion & Theology Research Guide
See our subscription databases on religion and other resources covering religion & theology.
Jewish Studies Research Guide
See the "Women, Gender & Sexuality" tab of the Jewish Studies Research Guide for more resources.
Medieval Studies Research Guide
Check the subscription databases list and additional options covering the middle ages.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)