Skip to main content

Philosophy: Internet Resources

A Guide to Fordham University library resources in Philosophy

Internet Resources for Philosophy Studies

 

INTERNET SOURCES
 

American Philosophical Association
Home page of the APA, which seeks to foster exchanges of ideas among philosophers, and to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophy.

Bentham project 
This website gives information on Jeremy Bentham and about the work of the Bentham Project, focusing on Bentham's Collected Works, publications, journals, videos and assorted "Benthamania;" and utilitarianism in general.

Episteme Links: Philosophy Resources on the Internet
Provides simple and direct links--about 16,000, by category--to philosophy resources on the Web.

Ethics Matters
Updates on current literature of ethics, for both professors and students.

EthicShare  A U Minnesota site partially funded by the Andrew Mellon and National Science Foundations, EthicShare indexes literature in the field of ethics with an emphasis on bioethics, and features a discussion forum as well as a news feed service.

Field Guide to the Philosophy of Mind
Provides an introduction to the myriad philosophical issues arising from the "allied domain of cognitive sciences," as well as bibliographic guides to relevant literature.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Features articles by specialized philosophers as well as adaptations of original material by this site's editors, with the undergraduate user in mind.

Philosophy at the English Server
Philosophy texts and links to scholarly philosophic organizations. The "EServer," a forum for writers, artists, editors, and scholars of all academic stripes, is an attempt to provide an alternative venue for quality work; as such, the site welcomes new contributions from scholars and practitioners.

Philosophy Research Base
A self-described "Meta-Index" which integrates text resources with the best online resources. Its purpose is to provide a guide to study as well as a platform for a wide variety of community services for students and teachers of philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This "dynamic reference work," a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University, features new articles and updates on a regular basis. All contributions are evaluated by an Editorial Board before inclusion.

Voice of the Shuttle Philosophy Page
Provides links to philosophical societies, electronic journals, texts, movements, university philosophy departments, links to related sites, and conference news and calendars. Also identifies philosophy listservs and newsgroups for interested participants. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes the full text of a wide array of scholarly literature across many disciplines.  Use Advanced Search for more refined results.