Research Guides @ Fordham: Biographical Research: Literature, Science, Business, Social Science

Literary Biography Database

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window

Print access for Dictionary of Literary Biography:
Call Number: (RH) Ref PS2 .D5
Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1978 - .

Print Access for Contemporary Authors:
Call Number: (RH) Ref PS2.C6.
Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1962 -

One database searches all volumes of both the Dictionary of Literary Biography & the Contemporary Authors series.

Find here biographical, bibliographical, and analytical information on writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields. Includes living and deceased writers from all fields and all nations.

Social Science

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: (RH W) Ref HM425 .B53, 11 vols.
Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007.

Contains both historical and contemporary biographies of individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of sociology. Also includes a timeline and an extensive index.
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers by Diane Collinson (Editor); Stuart Brown (Editor)
Call Number: (LC) B104 .B5.
New York: Routledge, 1996.

Brief biographies with indices for nationality, influences, schools, movements, interests, and topic.
Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: from Piaget to the Present. by Joy A. Palmer
New York: Routledge, 2001.

This volume covers from Piaget to the Present.
Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: from Confucius to Dewey by Joy A. Palmer
New York: Routledge, 2001.

This volume covers from Confucius to Dewey.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by Noel Sheehy (Editor); Antony J. Chapman (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BF109.A1 B5.
New York: Routledge, 2002.

Entries contain biographical information, critical analysis of theories and influences, and include major publications, awards, and employers.

Business & Industry

International Directory of Business Biographies by Schlager Group Staff
Call Number: (RH) Ref HC29.I57, 4 vols.
Detroit: St. James Press, 2005.

Biographies of contemporary business leaders from multinational corporations.
Inventions and Inventors by Roger Smith (Editor)
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref T20.I59
Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2002.
Biographical information about inventors, contextual information about the development of the invention. Includes a timeline (1900-2000), an industry index for inventions, and a combined subject/name index.
Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography: Banking and Finance, 1913-1989 by Larry Schweikart (Editor)
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref HG2461 .B33
ISBN: 0816021945
New York: Facts on File, 1990.
One book in a series. Search the catalog under the series name "Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography" for additional titles.
Biographical Dictionary of European Labor Leaders by A. Thomas Lane (Contribution by)
Call Number: (RH) Ref HD8377.A1 B56.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.
Brief biographies with bibliographies, also an appendix of labor leaders by state and by national/ethnic group.

Science Biographical Database

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Lives of famous scientists from all periods and countries.

Science Biographical Reference Book

American Men and Women of Science by Thomson Gale Staff
Call Number: (RH) Ref Q141 .C4, multi-volume set.
Detroit: Gale, 2008.
Lives of living American scientists in all fields including medicine.

Biographical Research: Literature, Science, Business, Social Science

Literary Biography Database

Social Science

Business & Industry

Science Biographical Database

Science Biographical Reference Book

Reference & Instruction Department