Research Guides @ Fordham: Biographical Research: Reference Shelf

Brief Profile Databases

Start Your Research with a Brief Profile

Brief profiles are useful when starting your research to determine the standard spelling of names, significant dates, occupations, nationality, and notoriety of the individual. Use the brief sources listed here for fact checking or when minimal information is required.

Marquis Biographies Online (Who's Who in...) This link opens in a new window
Brief biographies of over 1.4 million people from government, business, science, technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. (U.S. focus)
Access available to the following titles:
Who's Who Among Human Services Professionals
Who's Who in 20th Century America
Who's Who in America
Who's Who in American Art
Who's Who in American Education
Who's Who in American History
Who's Who in American Law
Who's Who in American Nursing
Who's Who in American Politics
Who's Who in Asia
Who's Who in Corporate America
Who's Who in Entertainment
Who's Who in Finance & Business
Who's Who in Media & Communications
Who's Who in Medicine & Healthcare
Who's Who in Religion
Who's Who in Science and Engineering
Who's Who in the East
Who's Who in the Midwest
Who's Who in the South & Southwest
Who's Who in the West
Who's Who in the World
Who's Who of American Women
Who's Who of Emerging Leaders in America
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Over 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. One search provides results from all sources. Includes historic and contemporary profiles for all nations, professions, and affiliations.

Guide to Reference in Genealogy and Biography

Discourses, Dialogue and Diversity in Biographical Research : An Ecology of Life and Learning by Alan Bainbridge (Volume Editor); Laura Formenti (Volume Editor); Linden West (Volume Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Leiden ; Boston : Brill [2021]
Guide to Reference in Genealogy and Biography by Mary K. Mannix; Fred Burchsted; Jo Bell Whitlatch
Chicago : ALA Editions, an imprint of the American Library Association, 2015.
Research Methodologies for Auto/biography Studies by Kate Douglas (Editor); Ashley Barnwell (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
New York, NY : Routledge, 2019

Brief Profile Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Chambers Biographical Dictionary, 8th ed. by Camilla Rockwood, ed.
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref CT103 .C4
Edinburgh : Chambers, 2007.
The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia by David Crystal (Editor)
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref CT103.C26
New York: Cambridge University Press, 1998.
Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary by Merriam-Webster, Inc. Staff
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref CT103.M47
Springfield, Mass.: Merriam-Webster, 1995.
Debrett's People of Today 2012
London [Eng.]: Debrett's Peerage, 2011 via Credo Reference, 2012.
A comprehensive study of contemporary Britain's most notable and successful people. Entries include details of career, education, family, recreations and membership of clubs as well as contact addresses.

Need help? Just ask a Reference Librarian.

AJCU - Ask a Librarian Chat!

Staffed by Fordham and AJCU librarians.

Service is available 24/7

Chat is not available on the following holidays:

Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, and Independence Day.

Fordham Reference Text

Text your question to

71-TXTX-1284

Choose this option for short, simple questions

Available only when Fordham librarians and staff are online

160 character max for questions

320 character max for answers

Email us: library@fordham.edu

Most questions answered within 2 business days.

Call us:

Lincoln Center Reference: 212-636-6050

Rose Hill Reference: 718-817-3586

Westchester Reference: 914-367-3061

Check the library hours for phone availability, leave a voice message if needed.

Biographical Research: Reference Shelf

Brief Profile Databases

Guide to Reference in Genealogy and Biography

Brief Profile Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Need help? Just ask a Reference Librarian.

Reference & Instruction Department