Research Guides @ Fordham: Biographical Research: Finding Articles

Three Ways to Search Explained

Quick Search #1 - Fordham Catalog (Print & Electronic)

This is the Traditional Fordham Library Catalog. Use this option to search the catalog for ALL items owned by Fordham (all campuses). Includes books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos & dvds, maps, etc.

If you are looking for a film, click on Advanced Search and use the drop down box for TYPE to select Video Material (DVD, VHS, ect.). Then use the keyword, title, subject, or author boxes to search for your item.

Quick Search #2 - OneSearch Discovery

The OneSearch includes the Fordham Library Catalog, most of the databases, the Institutional Repository, and our Digital Collections. When you search using OneSearch, you will find books, articles, images, graphs, charts, and more.

The purpose of OneSearch is to streamline your research process; one search will yield books as well as articles. Unfortunately, many of the unique features of the discipline specific databases are not included in the OneSearch. Upper level discipline specific researchers should consult the primary databases of their field.

Quick Search #3 - Electronic Books & Journals

If you ONLY WANT ELECTRONIC resources, this is the search for you. Keep in mind that Fordham owns rich resources in a wide variety of formats. By limiting your search to only electronically available items, you my exclude critical research resources on your topic.

General Databases

If you are looking for biographical information about someone who is recently in the news, but not yet established as a notable individual, you should try searchings these databases.

Search the person's name and limit by the word biography or interview or by the document type.

Example: “Esperanza Spalding” AND interview

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search option. Enter last name, first name. Use the blue arrow to limit to "person". Limit "document type" by biography, interview, obituary, etc.
News (Gale OneFile - Includes NY State Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes former New York State Newspapers database content. Full text articles from thousands of national, international, state and local English language newspapers published between 1980 and present.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search option. Enter last name, first name. Use the blue arrow to limit to "person". Limit "document type" by biography, interview, obituary, etc.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to over 400 journals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles. Covers many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic, minority, and native presses providing researchers with diverse perspectives from 1959-present (varies by publication). Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People; and Multi-Ethnic People.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the subject of gender roles. Covers both men and women, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. The collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications.

General Databases - Historical Biographies

If you are looking for historical biographical information, you should try searchings these databases.

Search the person's name and limit by the word biography or interview or by the document type.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2017.
Note: The digitized Index allows users to search on and view terms exactly as they appeared in the New York Times print index and newspaper articles.
Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text of The Wall Street Journal for 1889-2003.
Historical Newspapers: The Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text of the L.A. Times for 1881-1996.
Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Washington Post for 1877-2004.
Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A list of newspaper databases owned by Fordham. Search using the personal name of the individual and the keyword obituary, or limit by the document type: obituary. Make sure you select a database that covers newspapers for the appropriate time period. There are online databases for both current and historic newspapers.

Biography Databases

U.S. Executive Compensation Database - Executive Biographies
The U.S. Executive Compensation Database: Boards and Committees reports salaries and total other compensation for officers of a company. (This database is searched with U.S. Company Profiles.) The U.S. Executive Compensation Database: Executive Biographies lists compensation for individual executives.

Selected Electronic Biography Journals

Below are selected electronic journals in the field. The library may own one journal in multiple formats (electronic, print, and microform). For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, please consult the catalog.

Biographical Research: Finding Articles

Three Ways to Search Explained

General Databases

General Databases - Historical Biographies

Biography Databases

Selected Electronic Biography Journals

Reference & Instruction Department