Research Guides @ Fordham: Book Reviews: Subject Specific Resources & Databases

Art

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive guide to the current literature in the field of architecture and design. It currently index over 2500 international and domestic journals. Also this site is a good book review resource.

Language, Literature & Classics

Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstract access for more than 2100 important journals, books, and reference sources in the field of the humanities. (Includes book reviews.)
Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of literary criticism from classical to modern times. Excellent source for book reviews
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations, which dates back to the 1920s. Also provides access to book reviews.

Biology

BIOSIS Citation Index and Biological Abstracts (ACCESS ENDS 12/31/22)
See Scopus

Education

Education Review
Provides access to current important education literature and their corresponding book reviews. This database also permits searching book reviews in Spanish and Portuguese.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides the most comprehensive collection of education journals. Full text is provided for most journals. A superb source for book reviews.

Gender Studies

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This full text database provides access to publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Book reviews are available.

Mathematics

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Provides reviews of mathematics periodicals and literature since 1940. Also contains book reviews.

Politics and Government

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for almost 3,000 titles. Also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Sociology, Anthropology, & Social Work

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
This database which is put out by the American Anthropologist Association publications and has 32 periodicals indexed. This is an excellent source of book reviews.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations which cover thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. (Book reviews are included.)
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology research database with book reviews.

Music and Performing Arts

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 140 theatrical and performing arts journals. It also provides access to book reviews on the subject.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Is an excellent source for music periodicals due to its extensive range of subject coverage in both the scholarly and popular music journals which explore all aspects of music. Book reviews are available.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
This international bibliographic database provides broad access to citations, abstracts, and indexes on music and related disciplines. Good source of music book reviews.

Business and Economics

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of over 1,200 essential business journals. Business Source Complete coverage extends to all areas of business. This is an excellent source for business book reviews.

Communications

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the major communications journals. This database indexes approximately 660 journals, of which 350 journals are full text. This is an excellent source for book reviews.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to over 600 publications on film and television with links to full text. Includes book reviews.

Ethnic Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and extensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Good source for book reviews on the subject.

History and Geography

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Principal index to research in American history, including social and cultural history. Includes journal article abstracts and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides an excellent set of resources for doing research on world history. (United States and Canada history is not covered.) Includes book reviews.

Reviews in History
Offers access to reviews and reappraisals of significant works in all fields of history by historians from 1996 onwards. It provides an extensive and well rounded collection of book reviews.

Philosophy and Religion

America (Jesuit Magazine)
Provides access to all of America Magazine's book reviews from 2000 to the present.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
The ATLA database, which is produced by American Theological Library Association, indexes journals, book reviews and collections of essays in all areas of religion.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA)
*Merged with ATLA Religion Database*
Provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church and papale documents addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. From 1981 to the present, updated quarterly.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access abstracts and book reviews to the major periodicals and books. Includes good book reviews.
POIESIS: Philosophy Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable access to 66 Philosophy journals with emphasis on recent years. Full text is available for journals the university is subscribed to. Book reviews can be found in all journals.

Psychology and Psychiatry

PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
A premier source for scholarly psychology journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations. (Has the largest amount of peer-reviewed material.)

Book Reviews: Subject Specific Resources & Databases

Art

Language, Literature & Classics

Biology

Education

Gender Studies

Mathematics

Politics and Government

Sociology, Anthropology, & Social Work

Music and Performing Arts

Business and Economics

Communications

Ethnic Studies

History and Geography

Philosophy and Religion

Psychology and Psychiatry

Reference & Instruction Department