Research Guides @ Fordham: African &amp; African American Studies: Articles & Databases

African & African American Studies Databases

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This link opens in a new window
Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Supports a wide range of students and researchers exploring the ongoing racial injustice in the U.S.
Black Life in America - 1704 to Today This link opens in a new window
From Readex/Newsbank. Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience, as it was written. Covers not just people and events, but also achievements and impacts. Updated daily, this resource offers deep coverage on a variety of perspectives from over 12,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources. Provides the researcher full text/keyword searching, as well as, access to content by eras in African American history, topics, people and events. Includes Series I, II, and III.
Digital Library of the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Collection of cultural, historical, legal, governmental, and research materials relating to the Caribbean. Includes newspapers, official documents, maps, artifacts and more. Register for free MydLOC account for advanced features.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic, minority, and native presses providing researchers with diverse perspectives from 1959-present (varies by publication). Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People; and Multi-Ethnic People.
The Fashion and Race Database This link opens in a new window
Online platform filled with tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge mis-representation within the fashion system. First session you will be prompted to create a personal account. Use Fordham email as username and a password of your choice in order to use FRD. If you close the browser and start a new session, you will always need to log in with FRD un/pw. For remote access, you will need to log in with Fordham credentials and then FRD un/pw. For any FRD login issues, contact FRD Help Desk
Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 10 premier historical titles dating back to 1893. Day-to-day news coverage of leading issues and events throughout U.S. history as well as local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports. New content - Kansas City Call (Jan 18, 1924 - Oct 13, 1933 now available, some exceptions). More will be added throughout 2024.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
From Readex. Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
JSTOR Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Thousands of interviews, periodicals, posters, photographs, and more document the liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime, with a focus on colonial rule, the dispersion of exiles, and international intervention.
JSTOR World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive African studies site. Contains unusual photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research of African heritage.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought.
History Vault: NAACP Papers, The NAACP's Major Campaigns-Legal Department Files This link opens in a new window
Working case files of the NAACP's Legal Department from 1956 to 1972. The cases pertain to school desegregation, abuses of police procedure, employment discrimination, freedom of speech, privacy, freedom of association, and housing discrimination.
History Vault: NAACP Papers, Special Subjects This link opens in a new window
Records covering subjects that are crucial to the NAACP's history, such as civil rights complaints and legislation, the Klan, Birth of a Nation, the Walter White-W. E. B. Du Bois controversy of 1933-1934, the "red scare," relations with African colonial liberation movements, fundraising and membership recruitment, urban riots, the War on Poverty, and the emergence of the Black Power Movement.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
From HeinOnline, covers slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. Includes content from the Buffalo Erie County Public Library. Includes every state and federal statute, legal commentary, pamphlets and books from the 19th century, and other hard to find materials such as essays and articles in obscure journals. Provides word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. Must Register for an Account.

African Index Medicus
In order to give access to health information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the World Health Organization ( WHO ), in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources. This index is called African Index Medicus (AIM).
African Journals Online (AJOL)
AJOL hosts 526 journals, including 269 open access journals. For access to content that is not open access, check the library catalog for holdings. Submit an Interlibrary Loan for items not available either via open access or the library.

General Sources with Significant African American Studies Content

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Diverse primary source materials from books, newspapers and periodicals with views of American history and culture during the 19th century. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,500 journals published between 1740 and 1940.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. A service of the American Anthropological Association.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Gale Ebooks Race and Social Injustice Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of twenty-niine eBooks to encourage learning and research in systemic racism, social injustice, and anti-racism. Encompasses subject areas in race and ethnic relations, anthropology, politics, journalism, ethnic and women’s studies, Black studies and policing.
Students can save and download audio files onto their mobile device with Readspeaker text-to-speech technology. To download, click into one of the chapters and use icons located at the top right.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. All Open Content, Journal Collections, and Reports are available to Fordham users. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online resource for helping students explore today's hottest social issues from all perspectives. * Note: Only 85-90% of each reference title is included in the database. Some material is omitted because of online rights issues.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Bibliographies in 16 subjects: African Studies, Art History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary & Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Renaissance & Reformation, Social Work and Sociology. Citations are linked to full text when available.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals, including African & African American history and literature,
US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier) This link opens in a new window
Most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal and a large collection of local and regional newspapers on the ProQuest platform. INCLUDES FORMER BLACK NEWSPAPERS.
World Protest and Reform Movements: Global Perspectives, 1945-1996 This link opens in a new window
From Readex. Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to major protest and reform movements.

Selected African American Studies Electronic Journals

Below are selected electronic journals in the field. The library may own one journal in multiple formats (electronic, print, and microform). For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, please consult the library catalog.

African American review
AAR promotes diverse perspectives on African American literature, art, and culture.
Black Scholar
A peer review journal, Black Scholar presents African-American essays on a broad range of issues in sociology, history, literature, political science, health, art, women's studies and ethnic studies.
Journal of African American studies
Journal of African American Studies examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora. It publishes original research on issues of professional and disciplinary concern for the social progress of people of African descent.
Journal of Black Studies
The scholarship inside Journal of Black Studies covers a wide range of subject areas, including: Society * Social Issues * Afrocentricity * Economics * Culture * Media * Literature * Language * Heritage * Biology
Black Renaissance / Renaissance Noire
Published by The Institute of African American Affairs (IAAA) & Center for Black Visual Culture (CBVC) at New York University, Black Renaissance/Renaissance Noire publishes essays, poetry, fiction, photography, art, and reviews that address the full range of contemporary black concerns. It invites black genius to apply itself to the realities of the twenty-first century with uncompromised thought, generous and readable analysis, and commentary.
Western Journal of Black Studies
The Western Journal of Black Studies (WJBS) publishes scholarly articles from a wide range of disciplines that focus mainly on the experience of African Americans in the United States of America and that report original investigations and contribute new knowledge and understanding to the field of Black/African American Studies
Langston Hughes Review
Scholarly articles that focus on the writings of Langston Hughes, the first African American to make his living solely by his pen, writing fifty books, including poetry, drama, autobiography, history, fiction, prose comedy, juvenile literature, librettos, and black gospel song-plays.

Open Access Journal Titles

Additional General Sources

Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Fordham's newspaper database collections sorted by current and historic.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search together all series of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection on EBSCO. Offers a comprehensive documentary history of the American experience spanning four centuries with multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America.
New York State Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
A growing open portal that brings together various digitized collections to create an open network of online resources that draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums." Includes thousands of items from the Government Printing Office's Catalog of Publications and the Medical Heritage Library research collection.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) searches can be limited to primary source sets.

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

African & African American Studies: Articles & Databases

African & African American Studies Databases

General Sources with Significant African American Studies Content

Selected African American Studies Electronic Journals

Open Access Journal Titles

Additional General Sources

Reference & Instruction Department