Skip to main content

Business Research: Access Issues

This guide provides an overview of research methods and the Fordham University Library's collection of business resources.

Quick Self-Help Tips for Access Problems

1. Start at the Library Homepage (http://www.library.fordham.edu) NOT my.fordham.edu.

2. Do Not use Fordham VPN to access library resources.

3. Try a different browser (Chrome, Internet Explorer, Firefox); MAC users should try Safari first.

4. Clear your History/Cache/Cookies.

5. Make sure Cookies and Pop-ups are enabled; Allow trusted database sites.

6. Be aware of any notes provided for additional instructions.

7. Some Internet monitoring/blocking programs, browser extensions, software, and private windows may not be fully compatible with the library's electronic resources. Disable and try accessing the e-resource again.

Best Practices

  • Use a fully featured web browser, and be sure to update to the most recent version
  • Update Adobe Acrobat Reader for PDF files
  • Protect your computer. Use virus protection software, firewalls, and adware/spyware protection software.

Remote Access Information

  • Remote access to e-resources by Fordham VPN is no longer supported for anyone.
  • Most resources provide remote access via automatic IP authentication with your AccessIT ID. You will be prompted to enter this information.
  • Some resources will indicate if a username/password login is required.
  • Remote access to e-resources for Alumni is not supported.
  • See attached file below for list of titles with no remote access. If a resource is not accessible remotely but is available in our print collection, submit an article request to Document Delivery service.

Contacts For Additional Help

  • IT Customer Care for computer issues or AccessIT ID login problems or MFA (authentication problems):
    • HelpIT@fordham.edu | 718-817-3999  Or Tech Help tab at My.Fordham.edu
  • Library E-resources Department if you cannot access a specific resource, whether on campus or remote, after successful login with AccessIT ID. Example: an error message or a login box appears on the homepage of a resource:
  • Library Reference Department for assistance with search strategies or research guides:
    • Call Reference Desk at Rose Hill (718-817-3586), Lincoln Center (212-636-6050) or Westchester (914-367-3061).
    • To text, chat, or email: Ask A Librarian

PROQUEST DISPLACED RESEARCHERS

ProQuest has a new program that provides no-cost access to its databases for students and researchers who have been separated from their universities and libraries because of travel bans or other immigration changes. Please send an email to: ContinueMyResearch@proquest.com for assistance on how to request this program.

KNOWN ISSUES

LIBRARY HOME PAGE E-JOURNAL TAB

November 17, 2017. E-Journal Tab NOT working ON CAMPUS. Start your search from the CATALOG Tab.

ALEXANDER STREET STREAMING VIDEOS

Do not use Internet Explorer to access streaming videos on the Alexander Street platform.

BOOKS 24x7

No access from VDI terminals.

EBSCO DATABASES

Remote access does not work using "Private Windows" for MAC.

USING ARTICLE LINKER TO SCIENCE DIRECT

You might see a message in red "Sorry, your request can not be processed due to a system problem." The problem has been reported when searching between OneSearch and Science Direct, and also between Scopus and Science Direct but you might see it with any other linking to Science Direct.

As an alternative, try searching the OPAC if you know the journal name/author or use the E-Journal tab from the library homepage. The E-Journals tab on the databases list has a direct link to all Science Direct platform journals (however, we don't subscribe to all.) You can find the journal you are looking for. If you get the error message and see the Article Linker sidebar on the right, try clicking those links because many of them work if we have subscribed journal access.