Skip to main content

Business Research: U.S. Regional Data/Demographics

This guide provides an overview of research methods and the Fordham University Library's collection of business resources.

A to Z (Fordham Library Database)

Best Places (Internet)

Bureau of Economic Analysis - Regional Data (Internet)

The regional economic accounts offers information about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. The estimates of gross domestic product by state and state and local area personal income, and the accompanying detail, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies.

City-Data (Internet)

EconData (Internet)

EconData.Net is designed to help practitioners, researchers, students, and other data users quickly gain access to relevant state and substate socioeconomic data. The site aims to be a convenient, comprehensive first stop for anyone searching among the vast, disparate array of public and private data sources on the Web. EconData.Net is sponsored by the Economic Development Administration as a service to regional data users, and is jointly operated by Impresa, Inc. and Andrew Reamer & Associates, independent economic development consulting firms.

FDIC - Regional Economic Conditions (Internet)

Regional Economic Conditions (RECON) was originally designed to assist the FDIC in the examination process by providing economic information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area), and county levels. It is helpful in the analysis of risks facing financial institutions. We believe that easy access to timely, high-quality information about economic conditions and risks could be of benefit to some banks, as well as the general public.

Federal Reserve Bank of New York - Regional Economic Indicators (Internet)

Frequently used regional indicators on general economic conditions, employment, housing, income and inflation.

ICPSR (Internet)

Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government - New York State Statistics (Internet)

New York City Economic Development Corporation (Internet)

NYC.gov - My Neighborhood Statistics (Internet)

NYC Open Data (Internet)

NYC Open Data contains data sets produced by various NYC agencies and other City organizations. Currently, NYC Open Data supports many file formats. Data sets are presented by category, by agency, and by other City organization. Details about the data set (metadata) are provided alongside the download link.

RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet - U.S. Macro and Regional Data (Internet)

Primary macro and regional sites that generate data (many long series).

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (Internet)

State & Local Government on the Net (Internet)

StateMaster.com (Internet)

StateMaster is a unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. We have compiled information from various primary sources such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. More than just a mere collection of various data, StateMaster goes beyond the numbers to provide you with visualization technology like pie charts, maps, graphs and scatterplots. We also have thousands of map and flag images, state profiles, and correlations.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States (Internet)

U.S. Survey - American Community Survey (Internet)

U.S. Census - American FactFinder (Internet)

U.S. Census - Business & Industry (Internet)

U.S. Census - Business Patterns by Zip Code (Internet)

U.S. Census - Centstats Databases (Internet)

U.S. Census - County Business Patterns (Internet)

U.S. Census - N.Y. State Statistics (Internet)

U.S. Census - World Population Clock (Internet)

U.S. Census - Quick Facts (Internet)

QuickFacts tables are available for the nation, states, counties, and large cities. 

U.S. Department of Labor - Bureau of Labor Statistics (Internet)

U.S. Regional Data - St. Louis Federal Reserve ("FRED") (Internet)

FRED® is a database of over 45,000 economic time series from 41 sources. With FRED®, you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.    

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284