Skip to main content

Business Research: U.S. Government Data

This guide provides an overview of research methods and the Fordham University Library's collection of business resources.

Fordham University Library is a U.S. Government Document Repository

The Fordham University Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law.

What does this mean to you? Many of the these primary documents may be found in the Fordham Library catalog using a subject search that provides direct links to the document. Please contact the reference desk in the Library for further information.

 

U.S. Government Resources

American FactFinder (Internet)

The Census Bureau developed the American FactFinder web site as its primary vehicle for distributing Census data. 

Currently, American FactFinder provides data for the lowest level of geography (blocks), and data for the biggest variety of geographic entities, everything from zip code tabulation areas to state legislative districts to Census tracts. It also allows users to retrieve reference and thematic maps.

Business Statistics of the United States 2013 [Library electronic resource]

Business USA (Internet)

Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget (Internet)

Economic Report of the President (Internet)

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.

FDIC.gov (Internet)

Federal Reserve System (Internet)

Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance. In addition to presenting their research to policymakers, Board economists share their research at academic conferences and publish it in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly outlets.

Federal Reserve Bank - New York (Internet)

Fedstats (Internet)

FedStats.gov provides data that is collected by over 100 federal agencies and is searchable by geography, agency or subject. Data available at the site includes trade, education, health care, agriculture, aviation and energy. The site also has a link called "MapStats" that provides data (population, housing, labor force, retail sales, etc.) for states, congressional districts and federal judicial districts.

FRASER - Federal Reserve Archive - St. Louis (Internet)

Historical Statistics of the United States (Internet)

USA.gov (Internet)

USA.gov is an interagency initiative administered by the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies. It got its start when Internet entrepreneur Eric Brewer, whose early research was funded by the Department of Defense, offered to donate a powerful search engine to government. That gift helped accelerate the government's earlier work to create a government-wide portal.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) (Internet)

BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy.  To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies and disseminates statistics to the public.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) - Economy at a Glance (Internet)

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.

U.S. Census - American FactFinder (Internet)

U.S. Census - Business & Industry (Internet)

U.S. Census Data (Internet)

The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.  

U.S. Census - 2012 Economic Census (Internet)

The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.

 

U.S. Census: Economic Indicators (Internet)

U.S. Census - Statistical Abstract of the United States (Internet)

U.S. Federal Reserve Beige Book (Internet)

Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.

U.S. Treasury Data (Internet)

Get updates on Treasury bill rates, long-term rates, real long-term rates, yield curve rates and real yield-curve rates.