Skip to main content

Business Research: Country Data

This guide provides an overview of research methods and the Fordham University Library's collection of business resources.

ABI/Inform (Fordham Library Database)

A.T. Kearney Global Cities Index (Internet)

Bank for International Settlements - Central Bank Websites (Internet)

The mission of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) is to serve central banks in their pursuit of monetary and financial stability, to foster international cooperation in those areas and to act as a bank for central banks.

BBC Country Profiles (Internet)

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. These profiles also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Bloomberg TV - Africa (Internet)

Business Source Complete

CIA World Fact Book (Internet)

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Center for Monitoring India Economy (CMIE)

The Conference Board (Internet)

CountryWatch (Internet)

CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.

CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data to over 4000 clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests. In addition, CountryWatch provides country information to large media audiences in various venues as part of its media strategy.

"Doing Business" Rankings - IFC & World Bank (Internet)

The Economist (Fordham Library Database - Business Source Complete)

Europa World Plus (Fordham Library Database)

Eurostat (Internet)

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

 

Federal Reserve Bank - Global Market Indicators (Internet)

Economic and financial conditions of the global economy are outlined in the charts and other resources below. Links to regional and national economic indicators are provided too.

Country Information

Heritage Foundation/WSJ: Index of Economic Freedom (Internet)

International Monetary Fund - IMF (Internet)

LexisNexis Academic

Offers Business Monitor International (BMI) and Political Risk Service country reports. Find them by using the search box entitled "Research Countries" on the main database page.

Nationmaster.com (Internet)

This site uses data from governmen and international organizations to present comparative statistics between nations.  Some of the topics include economy, education, healthcare, immigration, industry, labor and taxation.  All statistics on this site are cited. If you are concerned about authenticity and authorship, please view the "Source:" field, found below each graph. Or when viewing country statistics, click the "View with citations" link below the bottom of the page.

OECD Databases

Polling the Nations (Internet)

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Sovereign Wealth Fund Institute (Internet)

Standard & Poor's Global Stock Markets Factbook (Fordham Library Print Resource)

United Nations (Internet)

U.S. Department of State - Background Notes (Internet)

The World Bank - Doing Business (Internet)

The World Bank (Internet)

We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development. We comprise two institutions managed by 188 member countries: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). The IBRD aims to reduce poverty in middle-income and creditworthy poorer countries, while IDA focuses exclusively on the world’s poorest countries. These institutions are part of a larger body known as the World Bank Group.

Books About Sovereign Economies

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284