Skip to main content

Business Research: Which Business Database Do I Use?

This guide provides an overview of research methods and the Fordham University Library's collection of business resources.

Accounting & Taxation

Analyst Research

Annual Reports - Historical

Barnes Industry Reports

Bonds

See "Fixed Income".

Books - Print and Electronic

Search the Fordham Library catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses. Go to the Fordham Library website for Advanced Searching in the Fordham Library catalog (under "Catalogs & Collections").

Business Ethics

Business Monitor International Industry Reports

Charts

Commodity Price Forecast Reports

Company - Annual Reports - Historical

Company - Bankruptcy

Company - Brands

Company - Competitors

Company - Corporate Events

Company - Conference Call Transcripts & News Archives

Company - Credit Rating

Company - Deal Information

Company - Estimates/Forecasting

Company financial estimates.

Company - Executive Information

Company - Executive - Relationship Networks

Company - History

Company - Industry Mapping

Company - Legal Aspect

Company - Market Share

Company - Mergers & Acquisitions

Company - News Alerts

Company - Peer Assessment

Company - Private Company Profiles

Company - Public Company Profiles

Company - Rankings Within Industry

Company - Ratios

Company - Risk Assessment

Company - SEC Documents & Financial Filings

Company - Share Ownership

Company - Subsidiaries

Company - SWOT Analysis

Company - Takeover Defense Profile

Country Information

Currency Exchange Rates

Economic Calendars, Data and Indicators

Economics - Index of Publications

Economic Data - International

Economic Outlook

Economist Intelligence Unit Reports (EIU)

Analyst Research

Equities (Stocks) Pricing

Estimates/Projections

Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs)

Euromonitor Market Reports

Financial Literacy & Tutorials

First Research Industry Reports

Fixed Income (Bonds) - Benchmark Bonds

Fixed Income (Bonds): Corporate Debt

Fixed Income (Bonds): Industrial, Public Utility, OTC Industrial, OTC, Transportation, International & Bank & Finance

Fixed Income (Bonds): Municipal

Walsh Library on the Rose Hill campus has the following print resources for municipal bond data:

Moody's Municipal & Government Manual, 1964-1966, 1968-1972, 1974-1999, (RH) H2.M7C (stacks)

Mergent Municipal & Government Manual, 2000-2007, (RH) H2.M7C (stacks)

Also check out the FINRA (Financial Industry Regulatory Authority) website at http://www.finra.org/Investors/index.htm for municipal bond pricing and other debt instrument pricing. Go to FINRA's Investor site > Bonds >Market Data Bond Center.

 

Food & Beverage

Fund Performance

Glossaries

Harvard Business School Lecture Videos

Industrial Raw Materials

Industry

Industry - Analyst Reports

Industry - Associations

Industry - Geographic Segmentation

Industry - Lists of Companies That Comprise Market

Industry - News

Industry Rankings

Industry - Ratios

Industry - Reports

Investment Education

Journal Articles

There are two ways to find an article in the Fordham Library - exploring one specific journal or using a database that covers many journals. Access to journals and databases may be found on the Library website at http://www.library.fordham.edu/.

To find a specific journal,  go to the Fordham Library website and enter the title in the search box named "Electronic Books & Journals" under "Quick Search".

To find articles on a specific subject,  go to the Fordham Library website. Under the heading "Library Resources" you will find a link entitled "Databases". Click on that link and a subject list will appear. Databases for business subjects are under the heading of "Business and Economics".  Here is a sample of databases that offer journal or trade magazine articles:

Market Data

MarketLine/Datamonitor Reports

Mass Market Magazines

Market Share - Industry or Product

Mutual Funds

Mutual Funds - Ranking - International Funds

Mutual Fund - Rankings - U.S. Equity

Mutual Funds - Ranking - U.S. Fixed Income

Mutual Fund Screening Tool

News & Newspapers

News Wires

Non Profit Organizations

Non Profit Organizations - Library Research Guide

Opinion Polling on Business and the Economy

Options

Patents & Trademarks

Rankings

Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS)

Reference - Business

Small Business

Sports Marketing

Statistics

Find resources for statistics in the "Analysis & Statistics" pages of the Business Research Guide or the "Economic Analysis & Statistics" pages of the Economics Research Guide.

Stocks

See "Equities (Stocks) Pricing".

Trade Magazine Articles

Wire Feeds

Working Papers

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284